Chapter 4: Case Law
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"Case law is the body of law on a particular subject created by the court opinions and is commonly referred to as common law or judge-made law....Case law is found in the written opinions of the courts." (p. 100)
Court cases are available in Milner Library's subscription legal databases:
- HeinOnline Academic Full text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
- Nexis Uni Full text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews. 10 Minute Training Tips
- Westlaw Full text database of court cases, law review articles, legal statutes, court rules, proposed & adopted regulations, proposed & enacted legislation & administrative decisions, and guidances at the federal and state levels. (Help with database)
According to Legal Research, Analysis, and Writing, 4th edition:
"Case law is the body of law on a particular subject created by the court opinions and is commonly referred to as common law or judge-made law....Case law is found in the written opinions of the courts." (p. 100)
Data and Social Sciences Librarian
Chad Kahl
he / him / his