It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CTK 450: Design & Aesthetic Issues in Arts Technology: Home
A starting point for research projects in CTK 450 (Fall 2020)
Databases providing scholarly research:
ACM Digital LibraryA full text collection of computer science and technology sources published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books.
Includes sources published from 1985 to present.
IEEE XploreComprehensive full text science and technology database and includes information from journals, conference proceedings, and technical standards.
Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteFull text database covering the research and development of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. Particularly useful for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Art and Architecture CompleteFull text database of art and architecture journals, magazines, and trade publications covering topics like antiques, art, art history, and interior and landscape design.
Includes sources published from 1875 to present
Databases providing "how to" information:
O’Reilly SafariEbook database covering business, desktop and web applications, digital media, engineering, information technology, software development, math, science, personal development, and professional development. Must enter your University email address to authenticate.
Skim to save time when choosing scholarly articles. Read the abstract and conclusion first. If the article still seems useful, proceed to skim the rest of it; otherwise, continue to look for other sources.
Follow leads, such as: following subject links and/or headings; looking for other works by the same author; looking at other articles in the same periodical; following up on references found in the reading(s).
Take note of terms, phrases and concepts that are relevant to your research. Search them to find even more information.
Overall, use a variety of source types to get the most complete range of perspectives. Your own perspective is also valuable and part of this research 'conversation'.
Do not hesitate to ask for help! Think of your librarian as a research coach who can help you problem-solve and enhance your research strategy.