Journal Articles - TCH 110 - Cross Cultural Teaching And Learning - Guides at Milner Library, Illinois State University

Education-Specific Articles Video

There are many different way to search for education journal articles, but ERIC is generally seen as one of the best. This page will focus in on using two different interfaces of the ERIC database, EBSCO and OVID. You can access all four ERIC Databases at the A-Z Databases List.

Other databases that might also be helpful are linked below. These databases look very similar to the ERIC (EBSCO) database and the same strategies can be applied when searching in them. You can also try searching for articles in the Milner Library Advanced Article Search.

ERIC (OVID)
This interface emphasizes use of controlled vocabulary mapped to the ERIC Thesaurus. Premier full text education database includes journal articles, ERIC documents, conference proceedings, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
ERIC (EBSCO)
This ERIC interface emphasizes keyword searching. Premier full text education database includes journal articles, ERIC documents, conference proceedings, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.

Other Great Education Databases

Education Full Text
Full text database includes journals and educational tests covering special education, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Includes sources published from 1983 to present
Education Index Retrospective
Citation database includes journals, magazines, yearbooks, and book reviews, published between 1929-1983, covering adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Includes sources published from 1929-1983
APA PsycInfo
Premier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Professional Development Collection
Full text database for professional educators and includes education journals and reports.
Additional topics: continuing education, curriculum
Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.

Some Terms to Try

Here are some to try to focus on cross cultural teaching and learning!

Inter bias curriculum
Cultural diversity
Culturally relevant pedagogy
Culturally responsive teaching
intercultural teaching
Inclusive education
Linguistically diverse classroom
Linguistic minorities
Mainstreaming in education
Multiculturalism
Multicultural education
Multilingual classroom

Here are some to focus on STEAM!

STEM Education
Science Education
Technology Education
Engineering Education
Art Education
Mathematics Education

Additional Help

IF I APPLY - Source Evaluation
This guide made by PennState University Libraries outlines how to analyze the credibility of a source using the 'IF I APPLY" method.
What is Peer Review?
A description of what peer review is and an overview of how it works.

TCH 110 - Cross Cultural Teaching And Learning

Education-Specific Articles Video

Other Great Education Databases

Some Terms to Try

Additional Help

Additional Links