Recommended Article Databases
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text Full text journal articles related to film and television.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) Digital archive of US and UK trade magazines, film fan magazines, and music press titles providing comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theaters, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements.
- Music Periodicals Database Citation database focusing on publications in music, music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition.
For even more databases, follow this link:
- A-Z Databases ListA list of all of the databases available to the ISU community.
Expand Further: Everything Search
- Everything SearchSearch across multiple databases and resources for articles, books, ebooks, multimedia, reports, and more.
Research Tips
- Research = learning and asking questions, not just 'proving a point'.
- Write down research ideas as you go along, using any method that works for you. This can help reveal and clarify ideas and directions.
- Aim to find just 1-3 promising resources to start. It's not necessary to gather all sources in one sitting. You can build as you go.
- Take note of terms, phrases and concepts that are relevant to your research. Search them to find even more information.
- Use a variety of source types to get the most complete range of perspectives. Your own perspective is also valuable and part of this research 'conversation'.
- Do not hesitate to ask for help! Think of your librarian as a research coach who can help you problem-solve.
