Library Resources for Finding Company Information
- BUS 100 GuideAlthough this guide is geared towards BUS 100, it does a great job of showing what resources to use for finding different kinds of information about companies and showing how to use the different databases mentioned to find company information.
- Company Information GuideThis guide provides lists of recommended databases for finding different types of company information.
- Job and Career Planning GuideThis guide includes recommended resources for finding Industry Background and Company Research.
Company Research Databases
Here is a slightly adapted version of the very helpful chart in the BUS 100 guide by Business Librarian Danielle Futoran. It summarizes the types of business information you can find in each of six recommended resources.
The first five resources are library databases. Their links take you to the BUS 100 guide pages that provide direct links to the databases and information about how to use each database to find company information.
| Resource | Here you can find: |
| Nexis Uni | Company name, ticker and exchange, address, year founded, business description, competitors, number of employees, company hierarchy. |
| S&P Global NetAdvantage | Company name, ticker and exchange, address, business description, stock price, gross income, net income, industry profile. |
| ProQuest One Business | Company news, company overview, industry news, industry profile, company history. |
| Business Source Complete | Company news, SWOT analysis, industry news, scholarly articles, company history. |
| 10-K (EDGAR) | Company name, ticker and exchange, address, business description, gross income, net income. |
| Company website | Company name, gross income, net income, company history including major events. |
Need help? Ask me!
Christine Fary
she/her
Contact:
Phone: 309-438-5010
Office: Milner Room 426A
In person and Zoom consultations by appointment: use the Schedule Appointment button.
Office: Milner Room 426A
In person and Zoom consultations by appointment: use the Schedule Appointment button.
Subjects: Agriculture, Music