Recommended Databases
This course requires you to locate scholarly (peer reviewed) articles on a variety of education-related topics. Below are highly recommended databases that provide this sort of information.
- Art and Architecture CompleteFull text database of art and architecture journals, magazines, and trade publications covering topics like antiques, art, art history, and interior and landscape design.
- Education Full TextFull text database includes journals and educational tests covering special education, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
- JSTORFull text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources encompassing area studies, arts, business, economics, history, humanities, law, medicine, allied health, science, mathematics, and social sciences. Search Help for Students
If you are interested in finding theses and dissertations written by master's and doctoral students (at ISU and elsewhere), the below database is a good source for that.
- Dissertations & ThesesTheses and dissertations covering multiple disciplines from over 1,000 accredited institutions. Some full text available.
For even more databases, follow this link:
- A-Z Databases ListA list of all of the databases available to the ISU community.
