Primary Sources
Books - Collections of Documents or Images.
To find books on a specific topic, use the Advanced Search, and select the Subject option.
To locate primary sources, add terms such as Sources, Correspondence, Diaries, Personal narratives, Oral history,
or Interviews to your subject search.
For materials not available in Milner Library, check the “Include I-Share Libraries” box.
Materials from I-Share libraries may also be requested.
To search for books and other materials in libraries worldwide, use WorldCat .
Some books, especially works out of copyright, may be available as electronic full text books in Google Books or other digital repositories such as Internet Archive, or Hathitrust.
Newspapers
Milner Library provides access to some newspapers in full text online and has other papers on microfilm.
The microfilm for most newspapers is located on Floor 2 in the southeast corner.
Microfilm of newspapers may also be borrowed from other libraries through InterLibrary Loan.
1. New York Times.
Historical New York Times (Online) (1851-2017).
New York Times from 1980 - present is available online in Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis).
Historical Chicago Tribune (online). 1849-1997.
1921 – present. Microfilm. Floor 2.
4. Newspaper Source.
Database containing indexing for 400 national, state and local papers with full text of many articles.
5. Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis).
Full text database includes coverage of U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, and transcripts of radio and TV news broadcasts. Years of coverage vary by specific publication.
6. HarpWeek.
Full text of Harper's Weekly online for the years 1857-1912.
7. Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.
Full text online of over 400 newspapers from 1800-1900.
8. Newspapers.com Illinois Collection.
Contains full text of Bloomington Pantagraph (1848 - 1985) and other Illinois newspapers.
Dates of coverage vary for individual newspapers.
9. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.
Full text for some 3000+ newspapers from 1836-1963.
Popular Magazines
Popular magazines, such as Time, Newsweek, Nation, New Republic, etc., may be good sources of advertisements and articles from a specific time period. Most popular magazines are indexed in Readers’ Guide Abstracts. Check this database first to identify articles published on your topic. Note that magazines from earlier years may be in storage or on microfilm. For earlier periodicals also try American Periodical Series Online, 1741-1900+.
The New Republic Archive (November 1914 - December 2010)
Time Magazine Archive (March 1923 - December 2000)
Life Magazine Archive (November 1936 - December 2000)
Autobiographies, Letters, Diaries, Interviews
Material written by a specific individual, such as autobiographies, letters and diaries, or interviews of an individual
may be excellent primary sources. To determine if Milner Library has these materials, search in the Milner Catalog or I-Share Catalog under the name of the person as an author, or under a group of people, or under an event.
Course Guide
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.