Databases
To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the "Articles" tab on the Milner website.
The sources listed below are good places to begin your research.
1. Historical Abstracts.
The major index to articles from history journals on world history.
The major index to articles from history journals on United States and Canadian history.
Full text of backfiles of journals in the fields of history, sociology, education, anthropology, area studies, etc.
Does not include latest years of journals.
4. Project Muse.
Full text of recent years for over 500 journals in the humanities and social sciences.
5. GEOBASE.
Covers journals, book series and conference proceedings on human and physical geography and environmental issues.
6. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Covers journals in political science, international relations, law and public administration/public policy.
7. Sociological Abstracts.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, conference papers, etc. on all aspects of sociology.
8. Art and Architecture Complete.
Indexes journals, books and images in the fine arts and architecture with some full text coverage.
9. Dissertations & Theses.
Indexes dissertations and some master’s theses & includes full text for many years.
Full text database of major periodicals from eighteenth century into early years of the twentieth century.
Locating Journals
The Find It link is available in most databases.
Click on this link to access the full text of journal articles and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.
If you have a complete citation for an article, use the Citation Finder.
Type in the journal title, year, volume and starting page, and click on Find It.
To determine if a specific journal is available online through Milner Library, go to
Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers:
Search for publications available online.
Type in the title of your journal and press Enter.
MAJOR JOURNALS IN URBAN HISTORY
Journal of Urban History
Online access from Volume 1, 1974 - present.
Urban History
Online access from Volume 24, 1997 - present.
