Reference Sources
21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook. Ref. HM 585 .A13 2007 Online.
This two volume set is a collection of over 100 articles on all aspects of sociology including demography, crime, environment, feminism, politics, social movements, etc.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Ref. HM 425 .E5 2000 Floor 2
The five volumes of this current, major source include some 400 lengthy essays written by authorities in each area. Topics covered include: class and race, demography, family roles, gender, organizational structure, postmodernism, social mobility and work and occupations. Extensive index at the end of volume 5.
Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology. Online (2011).
International survey of sociology containing over 800 entries each with references and suggestions for additional reading.
Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Ref. HM 425 .C36 2006 Floor 2
Includes definitions of sociological terms, discussions of ongoing debates in the field, brief sketches of major sociologists, and descriptions of schools of thought.
Sage Dictionary of Sociology
Ref. HM 425 .B78 2006 Floor 2.
Includes over 1000 entries on key concepts and theorists clarifying technical terms and explaining fundamentals.
Sage Handbook of Sociology
Ref. HM 586 .S24 2005 Floor 2.
Includes sections on theory and methods, major processes within society and primary debates in the field.
Many other specialized handbooks, encyclopedias and dictionaries relating to areas of sociology are available. Some examples are given below.
Handbook of the Sociology of Racial and Ethnic Relations. Online.
Handbook of the Sociology of Gender. Online.
Sage Handbook of the Sociology of Work and Employment. Online.
Handbook of the Sociology of Aging. Online.
Handbook of the Sociology of Sexualities. Online.
International Handbook of Environmental Sociology. Online.
Handbook of Economic Sociology. Online.
Handbook of Sociological Theory. Online.
Handbook of the Sociology of Education. Online.
Handbook of Social Problems HN 28 .H29 2004 Floor 4.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory HM 425 2007 (Online)
Sourcebook of Family Theory & Research. Ref. HQ 728 .S639 2005 Floor 2.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment HV 6017 (Online)
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior (2009) Online.
Handbook of Death and Dying (2007) Online
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement Ref. H 62 .E53 2005 Floor 2.
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods Ref. H 62 2007 (Online)
