Web Sites
- AIP Style ManualDownload the 4th edition of the AIP Style Manual.
- Links to Online Unit ConversionsLinks to several online sources for unit conversion.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)NTIS is the federal government's central source for scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information. Some of the information is available electronically from this website; for something that is not, check to see if the library has it.
- NTIS Conversion FactorsThis conversion guide comes from Appendix B of the NTIS Guide for the Use of the International System of Units (SI).
- Physics CentralThe American Physical Society (APS) uses Physics Central to communicate the excitement and importance of physics to everyone. The website is updated daily and includes physics in the news, answers to how things work, and descriptions of the latest research and the people who are doing it.
- PhysicsWebPhysicsWeb is a free service from the Institute of Physics (IOP). It features physics news, jobs, and resources; enhanced highlights of Physics World magazine; events; free alerts; a buyer's guide; and products and press.
- PhysLink.com: Physics and Astronony OnlinePhysLink.com is a physics and astronomy education, research and reference website.
- Science.govScience.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
- Asteroid and Comet Impact HazardsThis NASA website provides a bibliography, a multimedia gallery, a list of related links, and other information regarding asteroids and comets reaching the Earth.
- AstroWebAstroWeb is a collection of links to astronomically relevant Internet resources.
- Earth and Moon ViewerThis website allows the user to view different areas of the Earth or the Moon from a variety of perspectives.
- NASA Astronaut BiographiesThis website provides biographical information on the members of the space flight crews and candidates for future missions in NASA's space flight program.
- NASA Human Space FlightThis website is dedicated to information regarding NASA human space flight.
- The Nine Planets: A Multimedia Tour of the Solar SystemThis website provides an overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of each of the planets and moons in our solar system.
- Nobel Laureates in Physics 1901-presentThis webpage contains a chronological list of award winners with brief biographical information and a description of the discovery.
- The Parallax ProjectDigital version of the 10 volumes of star parallax data and calculations published as the Publications of the Allegheny Observatory of the University.
- Solar and Heliospheric Observatory (SOHO)The SOHO project is a cooperative effort between the European Space Agency (ESA) and NASA to explore the sun.
- Views of the Solar SystemThis website presents multimedia information about the Sun, planets, moons, comets, asteroids, and more.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & PhysicsFull text online version of the classic handbook of scientific reference data. Includes physical constants, conversion factors, symbols, nomenclature, chemical properties, and mathematical tables.
- International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and TechnologyThis source contains data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances.
- Physical Reference DataThis National Institute of Standards and Technology website provides a variety of reference data, such as atomic spectoscopic data, ionization data, and x-ray and gamma-ray data.
- Smithsonian Physical TablesThis source contains hundreds of tables covering a broad scope of common physical and chemical data.
- Antimatter: Mirror of the UniverseThis website, from CERN, allows users to discover what antimatter is, where it is made, and how it is already part of our lives.
- Astronomy CenterThis website is a collection of digital resources for college-level introductory astronomy faculty and students.
- Auroras: Paintings in the SkyThis website shows what auroras look like on Earth and from space, explain how they are created, and show where they can be found.
- A Century of PhysicsThis 20th century timeline of physics, from the American Physical Society, includes 5 different story-lines: the cosmic scale, the human scale, the atomic scale, the living world, and technology.
- Contributions of 20th Century Women to PhysicsThis website archives information on 86 twentieth century women who have made original and important contributions to physics. The entries describe and document their major contributions and provide biographical information related to their scientific lives.
- Einstein LightPresents the complex ideas of Einstein's theory of relativity as clearly and simply as possible.
- Flash Animations for PhysicsThis website provides over 80 Flash animations covering topics typical for an introductory high school or college physics course.
- The Nine Planets: A Multimedia Tour of the Solar SystemThis website provides an overview of the history, mythology, and current scientific knowledge of each of the planets and moons in our solar system.
- Particle Adventure: The Fundamentals of Matter and ForceThis educational website provides an interactive tour of quarks, neutrinos, antimatter, extra dimensions, dark matter, accelerators, and particle detectors.
- Physics Education TechnologyFree simulations that related to the real world and help explain concepts such as motion, work, sound, power, and thermodynamics.
- Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) Virtual Visitor CenterThe Virtual Visitor Center is intended for the general public, particularly students and teachers.
- Theater of ElectricityAn educational website from the Museum of Science, Boston.
- A Walk Through Time: The Evolution of Time MeasurementThis website, from the National Institute of Standards and Technology, contains text, black and white images, and a bibliography.
- Berkeley Lab Photo ArchiveA searchable and browsable collection of images from the Berkeley Lab's photo archives.
- Great Images in NASA (GRIN)GRIN is a collection of images documenting NASA.
- NASA Image eXchangeThe NASA Image eXchange is a web-based search engine for simultaneously searching one or more of NASA's online image and photo collections. Limit the search to the NASA Image eXchange by clicking the box next to NIX on the search page and unchecking the other two boxes.
- NASA Multimedia GalleriesGo to the NASA home page link and click the Gallaries tab to access the following galleries:
*Image of the Day
*Image Galleries
*Videos
*Ultra High-Def Videos
See NASA's Multimedia Archives for NASA images from June 1950 to February 2015. - Science Service Historical Image CollectionThis collection, representing twentieth-century scientific research in electricity, contains images and original captions as they appeared in period publications.
- IOP SelectA free service highlighting articles chosen by IOP editors for their novelty, significance and potential impact on future research.
- Physics ReviewsThis free service from IOP brings together review articles published in IOP's journals. Access to the full-text of articles is restricted to subscribers of the source journal.
- This Month's PapersThis service from IOP makes the full-text of aritcles published in IOP journals freely available for 30 days from the date of online publication.
- A Century of PhysicsThis 20th century timeline of physics, from the American Physical Society, includes 5 different story-lines: the cosmic scale, the human scale, the atomic scale, the living world, and technology.
- Contributions of 20th Century Women to PhysicsThis website archives information on 86 twentieth century women who have made original and important contributions to physics. The entries describe and document their major contributions and provide biographical information related to their scientific lives.
- Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab)Located near Chicago, Fermilab is the world's highest-energy physics laboratory.
- IOP SelectA free service highlighting articles chosen by IOP editors for their novelty, significance and potential impact on future research.
- Nobel Laureates in Physics 1901-presentThis webpage contains a chronological list of award winners with brief biographical information and a description of the discovery.
- Physical Review FocusPhysical Review Focus stories explain selections from Physical Review and Physical Review Letters for students and researchers in all fields of physics.
- Physics ReviewsThis free service from IOP brings together review articles published in IOP's journals. Access to the full-text of articles is restricted to subscribers of the source journal.
- This Month's PapersThis service from IOP makes the full-text of aritcles published in IOP journals freely available for 30 days from the date of online publication.
- Association for Women in Science (AWIS)AWIS - Heart of Illinois Chapter
AWIS is dedicated to achieving equity and full participation for women in science, mathematics, engineering and technology. - Contributions of 20th Century Women to PhysicsThis website archives information on 86 twentieth century women who have made original and important contributions to physics. The entries describe and document their major contributions and provide biographical information related to their scientific lives.
- Women in Physics: IUPAP International Conference on Women in Physics (2002)The conference proceedings are freely available.
- Women in Physics: 2nd IUPAP International Conference on Women in Physics (2005)The conference proceedings are freely available.
