Websites
Relevant Websites
The following websites may help you find primary sources. These sites offer a wide array of document excerpts, visual images and film clips.
Seventeen Moments in Soviet History: http://www.soviethistory.org
[Focus on "Moments" 1917, 1921, and 1924. Clicking on these dates will lead you to various topics. Clicking on a topic will then lead you to both secondary sources -- short explanatory essays written by historians -- and primary sources concerning the subject, in the form of excerpts from Soviet newspapers, archival documents and works of fiction, as well as visual sources like posters, photographs and film clips, all in English.]
Communal Living in Russia: A Virtual Museum of Soviet Everyday Life: http://kommunalka.colgate.edu/index.cfm
[Be sure to choose the English or subtitled versions of materials on this site!]
Marxists Internet Archive: https://www.marxists.org/
Current Digest of the Soviet Press
-
Current Digest of the Soviet Press1949-1992 available online.
Other dates may be available on microform.
-
New York Times, Historical (1851-2020)Full text historic database of the New York Times newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1851-2020. A new year is added annually. For the most current issues, create a free NYT website account via the Library catalog.
-
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-2013)Full text historic database of the Chicago Tribune newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1849-2012; new year added annually.
-
The Times Digital Archive (London)Digitized full text replica of the print version of The Times. The years covered within the archive are from the first year of publication, 1785 through 2019.
-
Time Magazine ArchiveDigitized replica of the print magazine from cover to cover including articles and advertisements. The collection includes issues from March 1923 through December 2000. Excellent source for 20th century events, politics, business, advertising, photography, and popular culture.
-
Life Magazine ArchiveDigitized replica of the print magazine from cover to cover including articles, photographs, and advertisements. The collection includes issues from November 1936 through December 2000. Excellent source for 20th century events, politics, business, advertising, photography, and popular culture.
Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.