Why do background research?
Reference works are a great way to begin researching a topic which may be new and unfamiliar to you. This page contains a number of general works you can access to begin your research related to agriculture and the environment. There are also links at the bottom of the page to a sampling of journals, as well as additional tabs to research databases, where you can then explore more specific and detailed research questions and topics.
The information you discover in reference works can be very helpful for developing more specific topic searches in research journals and databases.
Many encyclopedia articles have additional reading materials cited that can jump start your search for more in-depth information on a given topic.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability (10-vol. Set) by Call Number: digital booksISBN: 9781933782003Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Selected research resources
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations by Call Number: digital bookISBN: 1414433905Publication Date: 2012-06-15
Common Grasses, Legumes and Forbs of the Eastern United States by Call Number: Floor 5 Shelves QK495.G74 A23 2019ISBN: 012813951XPublication Date: 2018-09-19
Global Resources and the Environment by Call Number: Floor 4 Shelves GE195 .O55 2018ISBN: 9781107172937Publication Date: 2018-06-21
Dictionary for Managing Trees in Urban Environments by Call Number: digital bookISBN: 9780643096868Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by Call Number: digital bookISBN: 1412956277Publication Date: 2007-08-27
Worldmark Encyclopedia National Economies by Call Number: digital bookISBN: 0787677078Publication Date: 2003-12-01- Worldmark Encyclopedia of U.S. and Canadian Environmental Issues by Call Number: digital bookISBN: a1414490895Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Subject Guide
Christine Fary
she/her
Contact:
Phone: 309-438-5010
Office: Milner Room 426A
In person and Zoom consultations by appointment: use the Schedule Appointment button.
Office: Milner Room 426A
In person and Zoom consultations by appointment: use the Schedule Appointment button.
Subjects: Agriculture, Music