Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. Offers a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world.
Looking at general trends and specific items such as life in a tenement, women working overseas in World War I, the production of cosmetics in the 1920s, and new female immigration, this atlas portrays the history of American women from a vivid geographical and demographic perspective. In a variety of colorful maps and charts, this important new work documents milestones in the evolution of the social and political rights of women. Coverage includes the rise of reform movements such as temperance, women's suffrage, and abolition during the 19th century, and contraception, abortion rights, and the Equal Rights Amendment in the 20th.
A major new source containing substantial articles on many aspects of women's studies and issues related to women. The articles are arranged alphabetically and cover areas such as the arts, environment, economics, education, health, politics, religion, technology, and violence. Volumes 1-4.
Contains a series of maps depicting conditions for women. The atlas covers family issues, reproduction, work, education, suffrage, health, crime, etc. Also includes a statistical table for each country in the world, as well as notes and sources.
Statistics for this volume were taken from U. S. government publications only, and include tables on demographics, employment and economic status, health aspects and social characteristics. Specific sources are listed for each table.
Contains short articles covering current events and issues related to women, along with basic statistics on women in each country of the world. Other sections include biographical information, timelines and an extensive list of sources, both print and online.
In this completely revised, redesigned, and updated new edition of her groundbreaking feminist atlas, Joni Seager provides comprehensive and accessible analysis of the state of women worldwide--charting the progress that has been made and the distances still to be traveled. The Women's Atlas delves into issues of gender equality; literacy and information technology; feminism; the culture of beauty; women at work and the global economy; changing households; domestic violence; LGBTQ rights; government and power; and motherhood, among many others.
A multidisciplinary reference on the collective experiences of women. Prepared by 425 scholars from all disciplines, features 701 alphabetically listed entries, coverage of 1,250 historical figures, analysis of women and society and culture throughout history, cross-references, and bibliography.Volumes 1-3.
Lengthy essays divided into categories such as political and legal contexts, demographics and health, marriage and the family, women and production, and movements for change. Also includes essays on women in geographical regions of Africa, Asia, the Far East and Latin America.
The World's Women reports are prepared by the Statistics Division of the UN Department for Economic and Social Affairs (UN DESA) at five-year intervals, starting in 1990. Five reports have been published as part of the The World's Women series. The first three and the last issue, World's Women 2010, analyze women's situation compared to men's worldwide on a broad range of fields. The 2005 edition reviews and analyzes national capacity to collect and report sex-disaggregated data on socioeconomic topics relevant for addressing gender concerns.
Click each journal title below for information about online and print access via Milner Library.
ABO: Interactive Journal for Women in the Arts, 1640-1830 (ISSN 2157-7129) is an open access, interactive, scholarly journal, launched in 2011 by the Aphra Behn Society. The journal is supported by the University of South Florida Tampa Library. The journal focuses on gender and women’s issues, and all aspects of women in the arts in the long eighteenth century, especially literature, visual arts, music, performance art, film criticism, and production arts.
Ada is an open-access, multi-modal, peer-reviewed feminist journal concerned with the intersections of gender, new media, and technology. It is a publication born out of the Fembot Collective, an international feminist collective of media scholars, artists, and professionals.
Atlantis is a scholarly research journal devoted to critical work in a variety of formats that reflects current scholarship and approaches to the discipline of Women's and Gender Studies. It incorporates a diversity of feminist, anti-racist and critical identity, intersectional, transnational, and cultural studies approaches to a wide range of contemporary issues, topics, and knowledges. Atlantis is dedicated to the ongoing growth of knowledge in the field of Women's and Gender Studies, as well as to critical reflections on the field itself.
Feral Feminisms takes the feral as a provocative call to untaming, queering, and radicalizing feminist thought and practice today. Feral Feminisms is an independent, inter-media, peer reviewed, open access online journal. It is a space for students and scholars, artists and activists, to engage with the many sites and problematics of feminist studies – as understood broadly and across disciplines, genres, methods, politics, times, and contexts. Each issue of Feral Feminisms builds around a particular thematic, compiling diverse creative, queer, and always feral responses to the calls for papers.
Feral Feminisms is part of the Radical Open Access Collective. a community of scholar-led, not-for-profit presses committed to horizontal alliances and creative experimentation.
Currently, JFS is published through a collaborative feminist and institutional relationship between the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and the University of Rhode Island, while continuing to encourage a discussion of feminist thought for the twenty-first century. What are its directions today, and what relationship does it sustain with the foundations laid down by feminist inquiry and action in earlier centuries? JFS is a twice-yearly, peer-reviewed, open-access journal published online and aimed at promoting feminist scholarship across the disciplines, as well as expanding the reach and definitions of feminist research. JFS aims to publish work that explores the multiple theoretical paradigms and political agendas of contemporary and historical feminist scholarship and the potential intersections and tensions between these paradigms and agendas. JFS is especially interested in examining productive controversies and divergences between transnational contexts of feminism.
MP is an online, peer-reviewed, international feminist journal. Our goal is to provide an intelligent forum for feminist discourse in cyberspace, to give voice to a variety of voices on issues of gender and power.
S&F Online, a triannual, multimedia, peer-reviewed, online-only journal of feminist theories and women’s movements, provides public access to the Barnard Center for Research on Women’s most innovative programming by providing written transcripts, audio and visual recordings, and links to relevant intellectual and social action networks. The journal builds on these programs by publishing related scholarship and other applicable resources. A forum for scholars, activists, and artists whose work articulates the ever-evolving role of feminism in struggles for social justice, S&F Online brings you the latest in cutting-edge theory and practice.
Thirdspace is a peer-reviewed journal, offering work in English and French, that aims to present the best in scholarship on feminist theory and culture. We envision a broad definition of studies in "feminist theory and culture" which can include, but are not limited to, development and applications of feminist theory; cultures of feminism and feminist movement (including academia); and feminist cultural studies.