Research is Iterative
It is helpful to think about research as a circular (iterative) process where you approach it as a way to answer a variety of questions instead of a linear or step-by-step checklist to be completed one at a time.
Researching at Milner Library
Conducting research is an iterative process. For more information about how to conduct research, consult the An Overview: The Research Process web guide.
- Contemporary Women's IssuesFull text database focused on world-wide critical issues and events that influence women's lives and includes information from journals, newsletters, and research reports produced by non-profit groups and government and international agencies.
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
- Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs)Citation database covering all aspects of sociology and related disciplines and includes journals, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
- Understanding Call NumbersFind books on the shelves more quickly with this quick overview of how to read Library of Congress call numbers.
- Citing SourcesLearn more about why we cite the sources we use, how to cite sources in a specific style, and strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
- Determine Credibility (Evaluating)Criteria and examples of how to evaluate a source to determine relevance and credibility.
- Help Videos for Using MilnerA suite of short step-by-step videos showing you how to use the various resources available in Milner Library.
Course Guides
Related Guides
Below are a few subject guides that may contain useful resources for your research:
- Reproductive Justice GuideTopic guide on resources for reproductive justice.
- Sensitive Subjects GuideGuide for sensitive topics.
- Sociology Subject GuideSubject guide for the Sociology Department.
- Systemic Racism GuideTopic guide on systemic racism, social justice, and anti-oppression.