Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Social WorkOnline and print volumes on Floor 4 at HV 35 S6 20th 2008.
Four Volumes of lengthy articles on all aspects of Social Work, human behavior in the social environment, social work practice and social policy & policy practice. - Encyclopedia of Macro Social WorkIncludes updated and expanded content on macro social work from the earlier Encyclopedia of Social Work. All articles typically cover the history and context of a given topic; challenges and opportunities for social workers; future trends and directions; and relevant issues that advance social, racial, environmental, political, and economic justice.
- Social Work Speaks: National Association of Social Workers Policy Statements, 2021-2023Online
Covers public and professional policy statements on topic areas such adolescents, child welfare, families & children, health, substance abuse and violence.
Online Catalog
- Milner Catalog Advanced SearchSearch in the Milner Catalog using the full name of the program such as Child Support Services Program ot TANF. Also try searching for the broader term of the social problem such as housing, poverty, education, etc.
Article Databases
Social Work Abstracts
The major database for social work journals. Covers the social work profession, theory and practice, services for special populations, and social issues and problems.
Social Services Abstracts
Covers over 1600 publications in social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
APA PsycInfo
Covers journal articles, book reviews and dissertations in psychology and related fields. Includes some full text coverage.
SocINDEX
Covers over 700 journals in sociology and related areas including demography, criminal justice, and ethnic, racial and gender studies. Also includes full text articles, books and conference papers.
Family Studies Abstracts
Covers journal articles in all areas of the family including marriage, divorce, family therapy, child welfare, aging and domestic violence.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database including over 11,000 journals.
Illinois Sources
- Kids Count Data CenterIncludes national and state data with option to create custom data by city, county, school district and Congressional district.
