HIS 497 - Research in History: Refugees and Forced Migration

To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the "Articles" tab on the Milner website.

The sources listed below are good places to begin your research.  

1.  Historical Abstracts.
            The major index to  articles from history journals on world history. 

2.   America History and Life.
         The major index to articles from history journals on United States and Canadian history.   

3   JSTOR.          
            Full text of backfiles of journals in the fields of history, sociology, education,  anthropology, area studies, etc.     

4.  Project Muse.
          Full text of recent years for some 425 journals in the humanities and social sciences.

5.  Communication Source.
             Covers journal literature in all areas of communication, journalism, television, radio, advertising,  etc.

6. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

                Covers journals relating to politics, political science, and international relations.

7. Ethnic Diversity Source: 

                  Full-text database of dedicated resources covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America from multiple sources.

8.  Academic Search Complete.
             Interdisciplinary database covering all subjects with content from 1887 to present.
9.  Dissertations & Theses. 
         Indexes dissertations and some master’s theses & includes full text for many years.

 10.  Google Scholar.
           Provides searching across a wide range of sources; includes 'cited by' references.
           Use the menu icon in the upper left corner to access the Advanced search.

Locating Journals
            The Find It link is available in most databases. 
Click on this link for full text access and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.

 To see if a journal is available electronically,  use the 
Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
Search for publications available online in the library.