HIS 497 - Research in History: Refugees and Forced Migration

Books - Collections of Documents or Images.

To find books on a specific topic, use the Online Catalog's Advanced Search, and select the Subject option.

To locate primary sources, add terms such as Sources, Correspondence, Diaries, Personal narratives, Oral history,
or Interviews to your subject search.   

For materials not available in Milner Library, click on the “All I-Share Libraries”  link beneath the search box on the "Books & Media" tab.   Materials from I-Share libraries may also be requested. 

To search for books and other materials in libraries worldwide, use WorldCat .

Some books, especially works out of copyright, may be available as electronic full text books in Google Books or other digital repositories such as Internet Archive, Hathitrust, World Digital Library, etc.    See also E-Books

Newspapers

 The microfilm for most newspapers is located on Floor 2 in the southeast corner. 

 Microfilm of newspapers may also be borrowed from other libraries through InterLibrary Loan.  

1.  New York Times.  1851 - present.
            Historical New York Times (Online) (1851-2009)

 2.  Chicago Tribune Online.  1985 – present.
            Historical Chicago Tribune (online).  1849-1985.

 3.  Chicago Defender.  1921 – present.   Microfilm.
            Chicago Defender (1910 1975) is available in full  text from Milner Library.: 

4.  Washington Post.  1974 to present on microfilm.   1977 to present in Nexis Uni.
          

5.  Los Angeles Times.  1970 to 2002 on microfilm.  1985 to present in Nexis Uni.
            

6.  Newspaper Source.
       Database containing indexing for 400 national, state and local papers with   full text of many articles.

7.  Nexis Uni
            Full text database includes coverage of U.S. and international newspapers, wire services, and transcripts of radio and TV news broadcasts.

8,  African American Newspapers.

               Full text of  282 selected African American newspapers covering the years from 1827 - 1998,

9.   HarpWeek. 
           Full text of Harper's Weekly online for the years 1857-1912.

10.  Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.
           Full text online of over 500 newspapers from 1800-1900.

11. Newspapers.com Illinois Collection.
           Contains full text of Bloomington Pantagraph and other Illinois newspapers from 1848 - 1985.

12.  Chronicling America:  Historic American Newspapers.
             Full text for some 700+ newspapers from 1836-1922.

13. Black Thought and Culture.
            Full text database of books, speeches, essays, articles, and interviews of major African American  leaders
from colonial times to the present.

14.  North American Indian Thought and Culture.
              Full text database of writings and images from  the 17th century to the present by and about  Native Americans, Alaska Natives and Canadian First Peoples.

 Popular Magazines
Popular magazines, such as Time, Newsweek, Nation, New Republic, etc., may be good sources of advertisements and articles from a specific time period.  Most popular magazines are indexed in Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature.  Check these databases first to identify articles published on your topic.  Note that magazines from earlier years may be in storage or on microfilm.  For earlier 20th century periodicals also try  American Periodical Series Online, 1741-1900+.

Autobiographies, Letters, Diaries, Interviews
 Material written by a specific individual, such as autobiographies, letters and diaries, or interviews of an individual
may be excellent primary sources.  To determine if Milner Library has these materials, search in the Catalog
under the name of the person as an author, or under a group of people, or under an event.