Primary Sources
Books
To find books on a specific topic, use the ISU Advanced Search, and select the Subject option.
To locate primary sources, add terms such as Sources, Correspondence, Diaries, Personal narratives, Oral history,
or Interviews to your subject search.
For materials not available in Milner Library, check the “Include I-Share Libraries” box.
Materials from I-Share libraries may also be requested.
CRISIS
Volume 1 (1910) - Volume 34 (1927) are on Reserve at Milner Library.
Volumes may be checked out from the Circulation Desk for use in the library for a two hour time period.
Volumes from 1910 - 1922 are also available online at https://modjourn.org/journal/crisis/
Newspapers
Milner Library provides access to some newspapers in full text online and has other papers on microfilm.
The microfilm for most newspapers is located on Floor 2 in the southeast corner.
Microfilm of newspapers may also be borrowed from other libraries through InterLibrary Loan.
1. New York Times.
Historical New York Times (Online) 1851-2016.
Historical Chicago Tribune (online). 1849-1997.
Chicago Defender archive online covers 1910 - 1975.
4. African American Newspapers, 1827 -1998.
Full text of articles from 282 African American papers from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
5. Newspapers.com Illinois Collection, 1848 - 1985. (includes Bloomington Pantagraph).
6. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1789 - 1963.
Popular Magazines
Popular magazines, such as Collier's, Harper's, Atlantic Monthly, Scribner's , Nation, North American Review, McLure's Magazine, American Review of Reviews, The Forum, and The Independent, etc., may be good sources of articles from a specific time period. Most popular magazines are indexed in Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature (1890- present). Check this database first to identify articles published on your topic. Note that magazines from earlier years may be in storage or on microfilm.
The New Republic Archive (November 1914 - December 2010)
Time Magazine Archive (March 1923 - December 2000)
Life Magazine Archive (November 1936 - December 2000)
WEBSITES
Chicago History Museum -- The Red Summer of 1919
Newberry Library - Chicago 1919: Confronting the Race Riots
National World War I Museum and Memorial -- Red Summer - The Race Riots of 1919
Primary Source Sets - Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
NAACP - A Century in the Fight for Freedom 1909 - 2009
