This guide, developed specifically for students enrolled in COM 110 and COM 110.01, provides strategies and content for finding resources, introducing types of information, evaluating sources, and citing in APA.
Using statistics and data is a common practice to highlight a specific point or to strengthen your argument or point of view. Milner Library has several databases the focus on statistics and data from national and international polls, along with various government agencies.
Statistics and data gathered from multiple surveys administered by organizations in the United States, Europe, Latin America, and Asia. Data includes opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. To download datasets, create a personal account.
Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere — from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and U.S. datasets available for immediate download.
Comprehensive statistics database including data from federal and state agencies, international intergovernmental organization, professional, business, and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
Create visual, thematic geographical maps and custom reports using 100,000+ data variables. Limited to two simultaneous users. Sign in as a guest or create an account (with a unique username and password).
View data by state, congressional district, city, county, ZIP Code, census tract, or block group with data that includes population, age, gender, race & ethnicity, income, education, jobs & employment, poverty, language, ancestry, family types, marital status, vehicles, transportation, household & housing, market segments, consumer behavior, health, technology, finance, retail, business locations, and crime. It also includes the D&B business points-of-interest file and marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI) and Simmons Research with information on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories including consumer behavior, attitudes, health, technology, finance and retail data. Experian MOSAIC consumer lifestyle segmentation and Nielsen PRIZM is also available with the most comprehensive and precise insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data.