Full text database focused on world-wide critical issues and events that influence women's lives and includes information from journals, newsletters, and research reports produced by non-profit groups and government and international agencies.
An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Full text scholarly journal database focused on the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
This is a general database that contains publications related to a variety of subject areas, including many resources related to Women's and Gender Studies. From the main page it is possible to limit the search results to journals specific to these subject areas by selecting "Women's Studies, Gender, and Sexuality" from the search menu.
A wide range of full text materials including books, articles, letters, speeches, interviews, memoirs, biographies, poetry, and fiction illuminating the lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Essential content for cultural studies, history, womens and gender studies, political science, American studies, social theory, sociology, and literature.
Full text interdisciplinary database including articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
Archival material dates back to 1970 and includes authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. The combination of academic, gray, and popular titles encompasses:
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) studies
This free resource, on transgender history, is an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. This resource focuses on collecting materials created before the year 2000.
The Women & Gender Studies Section (WGSS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries was formed to discuss, promote, and support women’s studies collections and services in academic and research libraries.
Women's Studies / Women's Issues Resource Sites is a webpage containing a selective, annotated, highly acclaimed listing of web sites showing resources and information about women's studies and women's issues. The emphasis is on sites of particular use to an academic women's studies program.
This list was created and maintained by Joan Korenman, Professor Emerita of English, Affiliate Professor Emerita of Women's Studies, and Founder of the Center for Women and Information Technology at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC).
This webpage from the the Office of the Gender and Women's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin-Madison contains a number of useful links and resources, including bibliographies on gender and women's studies topics, Women's Knowledge Digital Library, and the open access repository Feminist Periodicals.
This webpage contains links to fact sheets and articles about women's health issues with a global perspective in mind. The page notes several broad sociocultural factors that may influence how and if women and girls are able to access adequate health services. Some of the sociocultural factors that prevent women and girls benefiting from quality health services and attaining the best possible level of health include the following: Unequal power relationships between men and women; social norms that decrease education and paid employment opportunities; an exclusive focus on women’s reproductive roles; and potential or actual experience of physical, sexual and emotional violence.
Curated news and events on gender equality from across the United Nations, this aggregator pulls from UN Women and a variety of other sources to provide a focused compilation of relevant and current resources.
This website has information about initiatives of the UN Women organization, including a digital library that links to reports, surveys related to the status of women, and other publications.
From the about section of the website: UN Women is the global champion for gender equality, working to develop and uphold standards and create an environment in which every woman and girl can exercise her human rights and live up to her full potential. We are trusted partners for advocates and decision-makers from all walks of life, and a leader in the effort to achieve gender equality.
An open access repository of digitized contents pages of 150 academic journals and pop culture magazines for researchers and scholars to view what is currently being published in the field of Gender and Women's Studies.
Women's Knowledge Digital Library (WKDL) is an open access portal of information by and about women and girls. The goal of the project is to provide users with trusted information that is easily and efficiently accessible and that which can be used in the education and empowerment of women and girls worldwide. Our focus is to amplify women's voices and include resources that women can learn from and adapt to suit the work being done within their own communities.
This webpage from the University of Wisconsin-Madison contains a series of bibliographies that have been created by librarians, women’s studies faculty members, graduate students in library and information studies, and staff members of the Gender and Women’s Studies Librarian’s Office to cover a wide range of topics.
Maintained by Middle Tennessee University, this database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections are pulled from various universities into one location and range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
ABO: Interactive Journal for Women in the Arts, 1640-1830 (ISSN 2157-7129) is an open access, interactive, scholarly journal, launched in 2011 by the Aphra Behn Society. The journal is supported by the University of South Florida Tampa Library. The journal focuses on gender and women’s issues, and all aspects of women in the arts in the long eighteenth century, especially literature, visual arts, music, performance art, film criticism, and production arts.
Ada is an open-access, multi-modal, peer-reviewed feminist journal concerned with the intersections of gender, new media, and technology. It is a publication born out of the Fembot Collective, an international feminist collective of media scholars, artists, and professionals.
Atlantis is a scholarly research journal devoted to critical work in a variety of formats that reflects current scholarship and approaches to the discipline of Women's and Gender Studies. It incorporates a diversity of feminist, anti-racist and critical identity, intersectional, transnational, and cultural studies approaches to a wide range of contemporary issues, topics, and knowledges. Atlantis is dedicated to the ongoing growth of knowledge in the field of Women's and Gender Studies, as well as to critical reflections on the field itself.
Feral Feminisms takes the feral as a provocative call to untaming, queering, and radicalizing feminist thought and practice today. Feral Feminisms is an independent, inter-media, peer reviewed, open access online journal. It is a space for students and scholars, artists and activists, to engage with the many sites and problematics of feminist studies – as understood broadly and across disciplines, genres, methods, politics, times, and contexts. Each issue of Feral Feminisms builds around a particular thematic, compiling diverse creative, queer, and always feral responses to the calls for papers.
Feral Feminisms is part of the Radical Open Access Collective. a community of scholar-led, not-for-profit presses committed to horizontal alliances and creative experimentation.
Currently, JFS is published through a collaborative feminist and institutional relationship between the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and the University of Rhode Island, while continuing to encourage a discussion of feminist thought for the twenty-first century. What are its directions today, and what relationship does it sustain with the foundations laid down by feminist inquiry and action in earlier centuries? JFS is a twice-yearly, peer-reviewed, open-access journal published online and aimed at promoting feminist scholarship across the disciplines, as well as expanding the reach and definitions of feminist research. JFS aims to publish work that explores the multiple theoretical paradigms and political agendas of contemporary and historical feminist scholarship and the potential intersections and tensions between these paradigms and agendas. JFS is especially interested in examining productive controversies and divergences between transnational contexts of feminism.
MP is an online, peer-reviewed, international feminist journal. Our goal is to provide an intelligent forum for feminist discourse in cyberspace, to give voice to a variety of voices on issues of gender and power.
S&F Online, a triannual, multimedia, peer-reviewed, online-only journal of feminist theories and women’s movements, provides public access to the Barnard Center for Research on Women’s most innovative programming by providing written transcripts, audio and visual recordings, and links to relevant intellectual and social action networks. The journal builds on these programs by publishing related scholarship and other applicable resources. A forum for scholars, activists, and artists whose work articulates the ever-evolving role of feminism in struggles for social justice, S&F Online brings you the latest in cutting-edge theory and practice.
Thirdspace is a peer-reviewed journal, offering work in English and French, that aims to present the best in scholarship on feminist theory and culture. We envision a broad definition of studies in "feminist theory and culture" which can include, but are not limited to, development and applications of feminist theory; cultures of feminism and feminist movement (including academia); and feminist cultural studies.