Databases
To search databases and the Online Catalog at the same time, try the “Combined Search” option.
To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the "Article Search" tab on the Milner website.
To search specific databases, click on "Lists of Databases".
The list of subject areas will appear; click on History to view a list of databases .
The sources listed below are good places to begin your research.
1. America History and Life.
The major index to articles from history journals on United States and Canadian history.
2. Historical Abstracts.
The major index to articles from history journals on world history.
Full text of backfiles of journals in the fields of history, sociology, education, anthropology, area studies, etc.
Does not include latest years of journals.
4. Project Muse.
Full text of recent years for over 500 journals in the humanities and social sciences.
5. Black Thought and Culture.
Full text database of primary sources on African Americans from 1700 to the present.
6. Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600 - 2000.
7. North American Indian Thought and Culture.
Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era.
Milner Libray has print copies of this journal at the call number E 661 .J68.
The most recent ten years are also available online.
American Nineteenth Century History.
Milner Library has all years of this journal available online.
Locating Journals
The Find It link is available in most databases. Click on this link for full text access and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.
If you have a complete citation for an article, use the “Citation Linker”. Type in the journal title, year, volume and starting page, and click on Find It.
To see if a journal is available electronically, click on the Electronic Journals link
under Research Help - Research Resources on the library website.
When the Find E-Journal screen appears; type in the title of the journal you need and click on Go.
Subject Guide
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.