SOC 300 - Senior Experience in Sociology (Dougherty)

To search multiple databases at the same time, click on the  “Article Search” tab.

 To search specific databases, click on "Lists of Databases". 

 The list of subject areas will appear; click on Sociology  to view a list of databases . 

The sources listed below are good places to begin your research. 
 

Sociological Abstracts
Major database for sociology journal literature that also includes book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, etc.

SocINDEX
Includes sociology literature along with ethnic and racial studies, demography, criminal justice and related areas.

Annual Review of Sociology.
Volumes of collected essays on various aspects of sociology.  All articles are in full text from 1975 to the present.
 

JSTOR
Full text database covering sociology as well as other social science and humanities disciplines. 

 Academic Search Complete
Indexes over 11,000 journals and periodicals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, etc.
 

Google Scholar
Searches across disciplines and formats simultaneously; includes links to 'cited by' articles and related articles.
 

Dissertations & Theses.
Indexes dissertations from 1861 to the present; full text is available for many dissertations.

To Locate Journal Articles:

The Find It link is available in most databases. 
Click on this link to access the full text of journal articles and to search for a journal in the Online Catalog.

If you have a complete citation for an article, use the  “Citation Linker”. 
Type in the journal title, year, volume and starting page, and click on Find It.

 To see if a journal is available electronically,  click on the Electronic Journals link.
When the Find E-Journal screen appears; type in the title of the journal you need and click on Go.