Locating Journals with Title or Abstract
- Journal GuideJournal Guide is a free online tool that can be used to search for, compare, and select journals for publication across a wide variety of disciplines.
- Elsevier Journal FinderThis resource allows authors to input their article titles or abstracts to find potential matches to Elsevier-only publications. This journal finder ranks results by impact factor, acceptance rates, and editorial timelines
- Journal Author Name Estimator (JANE)This web-based bibliometric application is a free resource that allows you to narrow down possible journals for your articles. Linked to MedLine, this resource allows authors to search by title, abstract, or keyword to find similar articles published in academic journals.
Selecting Journals via Rankings
- Journal Citation ReportsFind journal information for evaluation and comparison of impact, rank, and importance in your designated field. Get key indicators like total cites, journal impact factor, and cited half-life as well as source data, rank, cited journal data, citing journal data, box plot, and journal relationships.
- Google Scholar MetricsThis web page describes Google Scholar Metrics as well as providing definitions and links to various resources. Another useful resource for determining journal ranking. Click on embedded link for "Top 100 Publications in Several Languages" for journal lists by discipline.
Infographic from Wiley Publishing
Assessing Potential Journals
- Blobaum’s ChecklistDeveloped by Paul Blobaum at Governors State University, this resource allows authors to check a variety of credibility indicators before submitting articles for publication.
- Cabell's JournalyticsDatabase of curated journals that provide high impact for the designated discipline. The whitelist includes contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, and metrics such as acceptance rate. Cabell's also maintains a list of predatory journals.
- Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory (was Ulrich's Periodicals Directory)Comprehensive database providing detailed information about various periodicals (e.g. journals, magazines, newspapers) such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
Deciding on Open Access
- Open Access (OA) - Scholarly CommunicationInformation about open access: what is it, should I make my work open access, how to . . .
- Creative Commons: LicensesCreative Commons offers a variety of options for open access licensing, which helps authors retain rights to their own work.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDescribed on the website as a “one-stop shop for users of open access journals,” this online database includes over 1,000 open access journals on subjects within the sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Easily searchable by title, author, journal, abstract or keyword, only peer-reviewed journals that do not charge their readership are included.
- SHERPA-RoMEOThis database of journal copyright policies on archiving pre- or post-print articles uses a color-coding system to indicate the level of rights an author retains for online archiving.