Chemical Structure Editors
These are links to download software for drawing chemical structures. Resulting structures can be saved in a variety of formats for use in structure searchable databases, word processing documents, etc.
- Chemistry Add-In for WordUse to insert and modify chemical information, such as labels, formulas and 2D depictions, within Microsoft Office Word.
Chemicals & Equipment Purchasing
Chemical Commercial Availability and Instrumentation Providers
- ChemSpiderCommercial suppliers are listed for many ChemSpider entries.
- eMoleculesFind information on chemicals using structure searching.
- Links for ChemistsLinks to university chemistry departments, chemical companies, and other chemical information, as well as job listings.
- Commercial SitesIncludes instrumentation and chemical suppliers, as well as publishers, software, database providers, etc.
- ChemSourcesFrom the company that makes print ChemSources; full online records are not free, but this is a good source to do a preliminary search to see if it's worth coming to the library to check the print volume.
- ChemConnectIncludes a suppliers directory and a chemicals wanted exchange service.
Individual Company Sites
Online Handbook
Information on reagents, solvents, and more to help with your synthesis planning.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780367417246Publication Date: 2020-06-05
Reaction Databases
These resources provide not only information on an extensive array of reactions, but also powerful structure based searching interfaces for reaction discovery and synthesis planning. For comprehensive reaction searching, you may need to search each of these databases, as well as consulting online handbooks of reaction information and print reference works on synthetic methods.
- Cambridge Structural Database WebCSDSearchable repository of small molecule crystal structures. Dataset information includes article citations, chemical structural data, and the results of crystal structure validation.
- SciFinder-n
Database of scientific literature including article citations, patents, chemical substances, and chemical syntheses. Users are required to create a personal account. Limited to two simultaneous users.
- Web of ScienceAccess scholarly literature and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes unique search options like Cited Author and Cited Reference.
- Organic SynthesesDownload ChemDraw Plugin for structure searching