Background and Reference Information - COM 201 - Communication and Social Issues - Guides at Milner Library, Illinois State University

Background Information (including profiles)

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: HN57 .E594 2004, floor 2 (reference)

"This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice."
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media by John D. H. Downing
Publication Date: 2011

"Includes more than 250 essays on the varied experiences of social movement media throughout the world in the 20th and 21st centuries."
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by Edited by: Gary L. Anderson & Kathryn G. Herr
Publication Date: 2007

Covers "...activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism."
The Foundation Directory
Call Number: AS911.A2 F65

Publication Date: 1960-

"The grants information available in Foundation Directory allows you to tap funding opportunities..."

Methods of Social Movement Research by Bert Klandermans (editor): Suzanne Staggenborg (editor)
Call Number: HM881 .M475 2002 (floor 4)
The Oxford Handbook of Social Movements by Donatella della Porta (Editor); Mario Diani (Editor)
Call Number: HM881 .O94 2015, floor 2 (reference)
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Social Movements by David A. Snow (Editor); Sarah A. Soule (Editor); Hanspeter Kriesi (Editor); Holly J. McCammon (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018

"The most up-to-date and thorough compendium of scholarship on social movements....Offers an illuminating guide to understanding the dynamics and operation of social movements within the modern, global world."