Skip to Main Content

Digital Scholarship

Resources and tools to support digital scholarship/digital humanities projects.

Digital Scholarship Spring Workshop Series:

Flyer with data visualizations and text advertising workshops.

Digital Projects and Methods for Scholarship and Classroom Projects
                     

The Digital Scholarship Lab at Milner Library will hold its first series of digital humanities and digital scholarship workshops in this space optimized with high-end equipment that supports a wide range of digital tools, methods, and uses. Topics will range from representing texts in digital forms using the Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) to using data analysis and visualization tools to curating digital collections and exhibits using the Omeka platform. Attend one workshop that piques your interest or join us throughout the semester to learn about different digital tools and techniques that can be employed for both scholarly uses and classroom teaching. 

Join us for one workshop or attend the entire series!

-----
For questions or to register for any of the workshops, email rescot2@ilstu.edu or rlfitzs@ilstu.edu.

To receive professional development credit, faculty and staff should register through the Center for Integrated Professional Development spring workshops page.

-----

Workshops:
Data Analysis & Visualization Tools

 Part 1: April 5, 10 – 11:30 a.m. 

Part 2: April 5, 1 – 12:30 p.m. 

Instructors: Yashaswini Mekala, Graduate Student, Computer Science; Shinjon Ghosh, Graduate Student, Applied Statistics; Rebecca Fitzsimmons, Special Collections Librarian, Milner Library; Rachel Scott, Associate Dean, Milner Library 

Two sessions! Attend one or both workshops to learn about various methods and tools for working with data.

Data Analysis & Visualization Tools, Part 1

This introductory workshop provides a foundation for understanding data analysis through visualization. Participants will learn some of the basics for working with data, including where to find existing data sets and how to clean data. Presenters will explain uses for data visualization as a communication tool and outline the uses of different types of charts, graphs, and other visualizations. Examples of appropriate use cases leveraging both PowerBI and Python will be highlighted.

Data Analysis & Visualization Tools, Part 2
In the second workshop, presenters will walk participants through the creation and modification of a very basic dashboard in Power BI. Power BI is an interactive data visualization software that the University makes available to all students and personnel. Presenters will also walk through a simple data visualization example using Python. All data and code will be provided, but participants are welcome to bring data of interest to them. Participants are encouraged to attend the workshop Data Analysis & Visualization Tools, Part 1, but this is not required to register for this workshop.

-----

Past series events:
Curating Collections and Creating Digital Exhibits using Omeka 

1:30-3:30 p.m. on Tuesday, February 27

Instructor: Rebecca Fitzsimmons, Special Collections Librarian, Milner Library 

Omeka is a flexible and easy-to-use platform that has many potential applications for teaching and scholarship. The platform contains various tools for populating curated collections of text, audio, and video; creating digital exhibits; annotating text and images; and more. With the ability to assign and manage different user roles, Omeka works well in the classroom for standalone digital humanities assignments, semester-long collaborations, or ongoing projects. The platform is equally flexible for researchers across disciplines to support their own digital scholarship and digital humanities projects. 

In this workshop, participants will learn basic and intermediate functions of Omeka and have a chance to experiment with different ways to use the platform.
---

Understanding the Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) & Its Uses in the Digital Humanities 
March 20, 2024, 10-11:30 a.m.

Instructor: Katherine Ellison, PhD, Chair, Department of English and Professor of Literary & Cultural Studies

How do you digitize a document so that not only its text, but its cultural and composition history, can be accessible to future generations? How do you create a digital record that can survive decades–even centuries–of technological change that you cannot predict? The Text Encoding Initiative (TEI) was created in the late 1990s by humanists concerned with the limitations of superficial, always-changing mark-up languages of the early internet, like HTML. This workshop explains the goals and mark-up structure of TEI in the encoding of documents, particularly ones with complex contexts that you may want to preserve along with the text itself. 

---
Introduction to Oxygen XML Editor 
March 20, 1:30- 3:30 p.m.

Instructors: Angela Yon, Cataloging and Metadata Librarian, Milner Library & Emily Baldoni, Cataloging and Metadata Librarian, Milner Library

The first step in starting a digital scholarship project is selecting a tool with an approachable insight into data. Oxygen XML Editor is a popular tool that provides a simple way to create, edit and publish XML files. This workshop will offer an overview of Oxygen XML editor and provide best practices when editing XML documents. The session will present a hands-on opportunity to become comfortable when working in XML as a structured data format and learn basic rules and standards.

Files for Data Viz Event