Recommended Databases
- PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
- ERIC (EBSCO)This ERIC interface emphasizes keyword searching. Premier full text education database includes journal articles, ERIC documents, conference proceedings, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
Health-Related Statistics
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention StatisticsData and Statistics from the CDC
- OSHA Data & StatisticsView data and statistics on the Occupational Safety and Health Administration website
- U.S. Census DataAccess a wide variety of health-related Census data
- World Health Organization StatisticsData on global health
Health-Related Government Websites
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionThe CDC's website contains credible information on a wide range of health-related topics.
- Healthy People 2020"Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans." (From: "About" on Healthy People 2020 website)
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)"A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world." (From "About NIH")
Websites for Teachers
- My PlateThis government website provides practical information to laypeople as well as health professionals and educators to assist individuals of all ages make good nutritional decisions about what they eat.
- Shape AmericaWebsite for a national organization that serves as the voice for 200,000+ health and physical education professionals across the nation.
