What's in this Guide?
This section contains e-book and print encyclopedias and handbooks specific to Abolitionism.
This section covers searching for books Milner's Library Catalog and I-Share Catalog along with key subject terms related to abolitionism.
History Books -- Call Numbers.
This section shows the Library of Congress call numbers for history especially African American history and the history of slavery and anti-slavery.
This section offers links to major databases in history with which to locate journal citations and the complete text of articles.
Slavery & Abolition journal.
This section describes the content of the major journal on the topic of slavery and abolition.
This section describes how to search for diaries, interviews, correspondence and oral histories in Milner's Library Catalog. Also included are databases containing major historical newspapers, popular magazines, U.S. government documents, legal sources and additional full text online and print documents and collections.
When materials needed are not held within Milner Library's collections, this section explains how to request items from other libraries.
The Chicago Manual of Style is used by History students to cite their sources. This section contains links to the full text of the Chicago Manual as a well as a quick guide and the print volume.
Abolitionism -- Government Documents.
This section describes major print and online government sources pertaining to abolitionism.
Illinois State University
Campus Box 8900
201 North School Street
Normal, Il 61790-8900
Have comments or questions about our guides?
Please contact Instruction and Student Engagement: