Recommended Resources - HSC 208 - Dynamics of United States Contemporary Health Issues - Guides at Milner Library, Illinois State University

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
Health Source Consumer Edition
Full text database of consumer health information from magazines covering topics such as the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
Includes sources published from 1984 to present
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
Full text medical database includes journal articles and patient education sheets for generic and brand medications.
Includes sources published from 1984 to present
GreenFILE
Full text database of journals, magazines, government documents, and reports focusing on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology from different disciplinary perspectives like agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
Additional topics: environment, sustainability, green
PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.

List of Contemporary World Issues books
This is a list of books in Milner from the Contemporary World Issues book series.
List of Opposing Viewpoints Books
This list provides a listing of current books in Milner Library from the Opposing Viewpoints series.
List of Taking Sides books
This is a list of books in Milner from the Taking Sides book series.

CQ Researcher
Full text database providing reports on current, social, and controversial issues representing multi-faceted and opposing viewpoints. Reports include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, bibliography, graphics, photos, and short sidebar features.
Includes reports published from 1991 to present.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full text database providing essays from multiple perspectives about current, social, and controversial issues in a pro/con format. Also provides links to other related sources like journals, magazines, images, audio, video, and websites.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Available via http://www.cdc.gov. Information for the public and health professional. Includes statistics, reports, fact sheets, etc.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
"A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world." (From "About NIH")
Mayo Clinic