Suggested Databases
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Health Source Consumer EditionFull text database of consumer health information from magazines covering topics such as the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health.
- Health Source Nursing/Academic EditionFull text medical database includes journal articles and patient education sheets for generic and brand medications.
- GreenFILEFull text database of journals, magazines, government documents, and reports focusing on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology from different disciplinary perspectives like agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.
- PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
- Databases A-ZA list of all of the databases available to the ISU community.
Relevant Series of Books
- List of Contemporary World Issues booksThis is a list of books in Milner from the Contemporary World Issues book series.
- List of Opposing Viewpoints BooksThis list provides a listing of current books in Milner Library from the Opposing Viewpoints series.
- List of Taking Sides booksThis is a list of books in Milner from the Taking Sides book series.
Databases Showing Different Points of View
- CQ ResearcherFull text database providing reports on current, social, and controversial issues representing multi-faceted and opposing viewpoints. Reports include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, bibliography, graphics, photos, and short sidebar features.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextFull text database providing essays from multiple perspectives about current, social, and controversial issues in a pro/con format. Also provides links to other related sources like journals, magazines, images, audio, video, and websites.
Selected Web Sites
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionAvailable via http://www.cdc.gov. Information for the public and health professional. Includes statistics, reports, fact sheets, etc.
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)"A part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NIH is the largest biomedical research agency in the world." (From "About NIH")
LibKey.io and LibKey Nomad
- LibKey.io Search and LibKey Nomad Plugin FAQLibKey.io is an easy way to look up articles by DOI to find if you can access that article through ISU resources.
LibKey Nomad is a browser plugin that makes it much easier to find articles available through ISU resources wherever you go on the web.
This FAQ will help you understand these two tools better - LibKey Nomad DownloadFrom this site you can download a plugin, LibKey Nomad, for your browser of choice that will look for article citations on pages that you visit and try to link those up, if it can, with articles available through ISU resources. This can help make the research process easier!
