HSC 396 - Health Education Program Planning & Evaluation

This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.

Looking for data sets about health? We're dedicated to providing an online platform for free, open data and this health data is no exception. It’s all open health data, ready for your analysis.

Datasets made available by the Centers for Disease Control on a variety of topics including COVID-19 related datasets.

A collection of publicly available datasets made available by the World Health Organization.

The Human Mortality Database (HMD) is the world´s leading scientific data resource on mortality in developed countries. The HMD provides detailed high-quality harmonized mortality and population estimates to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the human longevity. The HMD follows open data principles.

As part of its work to fuel data-driven discovery and interoperability the National Library of Medicine (NLM) has launched Data Discovery, a platform to provide access to datasets from selected NLM resources. Users can filter, visualize, and export data in a variety of formats, including Excel, JSON, XML. Users can also access and build with these datasets via API. Data Discovery provides a comprehensive catalog of products at the National Library of Medicine.

The Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS) regularly collects nationally representative data about the American public’s knowledge of, attitudes toward, and use of cancer- and health-related information. HINTS data are used to monitor changes in the rapidly evolving fields of health communication and health information technology and to create more effective health communication strategies across different populations.

A repository of health related datasets that is a subset of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)

The Health and Retirement Study is a longitudinal project sponsored by the National Institute on Aging (NIA U01AG009740) and the Social Security Administration. The study director is Dr. David R. Weir of the Survey Research Center at the University of Michigan's Institute for Social Research.

IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.

SAMHDA is a one-stop shop for SAMHSA public use data with online analysis tools. Learn more about different types of data files, what data are available as free downloadable PUFs, and what online analysis systems are available on the site.

The SEER research data include SEER incidence and population data associated by age, sex, race, year of diagnosis, and geographic areas (including SEER registry and county). SEER releases new research data every Spring based on the previous November’s submission of data.

Welcome to the GHDx, the world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data.

WhyNotTheBest.org includes process-of-care measures, patient satisfaction measures (from the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems), readmission rates, mortality rates, and average reimbursement rates. All of these performance measures are publicly reported on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Web site, Hospital Compare, and include data from nearly all U.S. hospitals. WhyNotTheBest.org also includes data on the incidence of central line-associated bloodstream infections, from over 1,500 hospitals across the nation. It also includes measures assessing whether and to what extend hospitals have adopted electronic medical records (from the American Hospital Association survey), as well as measures of population health and utilization and costs, from the Institute of Medicine. Finally, the site includes performance data for a subset of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Inpatient Quality Indicators (IQIs), Patient Safety Indicators (PSIs), and Prevention Quality Indicators (PQIs). Currently, we have such data for the majority of hospitals in 12 states. For further information on the particular measures, please see Methodology.

Open data sets about the town of Normal, IL.

"The City of Chicago's open data portal lets you find city data, lets you find facts about your neighborhood, lets you create maps and graphs about the city, and lets you freely download the data for your own analysis. Many of these datasets are updated at least once a day, and many of them are updated several times a day."

"Illinois Open Data Portal lets you find data across state, find facts about your state, lets you create maps and graphs, and lets you freely download the data for your own analysis. Many of these datasets are updated daily, and some even more often."

Portal for a wide variety of data sets and appls pertaining to animal products, crops, farm economy, farm practices & management and many others.

U.S. Government Open Data

Provides access to data from several censuses and surveys about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.

A collection of openly available datasets submitted to Kaggle and made available publicly to researchers.