Finding Articles/Journals
Databases with a medical or sport focus:
- SPORTDiscus
Citation database includes journal articles, books, dissertations, and theses covering sports-related topics such as recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
- CINAHL UltimateFull text database of nursing & allied health journals.
- PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
- Cochrane LibraryFull text database providing original documentation on a variety of medical topics and health care based on research from journal research articles. Limited to one user at a time.
- JBI EBP DatabaseFull text evidence-based practice database for medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes evidence summaries, evidence-based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, consumer information sheets, systematic review protocols, and technical reports.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Citation database about behavioral measurement instruments. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- Health Source Nursing/Academic EditionFull text medical database includes journal articles and patient education sheets for generic and brand medications.
- APA PsycInfoPremier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Dissertations & ThesesTheses and dissertations covering multiple disciplines from over 1,000 accredited institutions. Some full text available.
Streaming Video
- Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in VideoStreaming video collection focusing on topics like fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, and work-site wellness. Videos feature experts like physicians, exercise scientists, and athletic trainers.
Online Reference Sources
Concise Medical Dictionary by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780199557141Publication Date: 2010-04-12
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781410317391Publication Date: 2015-06-01
The Oxford Companion to the Body by Call Number: Online & Physical HoldingsISBN: 019852403XPublication Date: 2002-02-07
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780198568506Publication Date: 2007-02-03
