Suggested Databases
Databases with a medical or sport focus:
- SPORTDiscus
Citation database includes journal articles, books, dissertations, and theses covering sports-related topics such as recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
- CINAHL UltimateFull text database of nursing & allied health journals.
- PubMed
Citation database compiling scholarly research from all aspects of biomedicine such as biochemistry, molecular biology, bioengineering systems, biotechnology, cell and developmental biology, genetics, health informatics, human structure and function, immunology, microbiology, immunology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology.
- Cochrane LibraryFull text database providing original documentation on a variety of medical topics and health care based on research from journal research articles. Limited to one user at a time.
- Joanna Briggs Institute EBP DatabaseThis comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that's been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at the JBI so you can integrate the world's best evidence into your research. It includes evidence summaries, evidence-based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, consumer information sheets, systematic review protocols and technical reports. All JBI sources are available in full text from the database.
Kinesiology and Recreation Databases
Selected Journals: Exercise Science
- ACSM's Health & Fitness JournalOnline & Physical Holdings
- Adapted Physical Activity QuarterlyOnline & Physical Holdings
- American FitnessOnline & Physical Holdings
Not Peer Reviewed - American Journal of Sports MedicineOnline & Physical Holdings
- Exercise and Sport Sciences ReviewsOnline & Physical Holdings
- International Journal of Sport and Exercise PsychologyOnline Holdings
- International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise MetabolismOnline & Physical Holdings
- International Journal of Sport PsychologyPhysical Holdings
- Journal of Applied PhysiologyOnline & Physical Holdings
- Journal of Applied Sport PsychologyOnline & Physical Holdings
- Journal of Motor BehaviorOnline & Physical Holdings
- Journal of Sport & Exercise PsychologyOnline & Physical Holdings
- Journal of Sport and Social IssuesOnline & Physical Holdings
- Journal of Sport BehaviorPhysical Holdings
- Journal of Sports SciencesOnline & Physical Holdings
- Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise (Physical)Physical Holdings
- Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise (Online)Online Holdings
- Pediatric Exercise ScienceOnline & Physical Holdings
- Psychology of Sport and ExerciseOnline & Physical Holdings
- Research Quarterly for Exercise and SportOnline & Physical Holdings
- Sport PsychologistOnline & Physical Holdings
- Sports MedicineOnline & Physical Holdings
LibKey.io and LibKey Nomad
- LibKey.io Search and LibKey Nomad Plugin FAQLibKey.io is an easy way to look up articles by DOI to find if you can access that article through ISU resources.
LibKey Nomad is a browser plugin that makes it much easier to find articles available through ISU resources wherever you go on the web.
This FAQ will help you understand these two tools better - LibKey Nomad DownloadFrom this site you can download a plugin, LibKey Nomad, for your browser of choice that will look for article citations on pages that you visit and try to link those up, if it can, with articles available through ISU resources. This can help make the research process easier!
