Using the Online Catalog
- Milner Catalog Advanced SearchSearch in the Milner Catalog using the name of the social program, such as SSI, SNAP, WIC - also try the full name of the program Supplemental Security Income, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, Women, Infants, and Children. Also try searching for the broader term of the social problem such as housing, poverty, education, etc.
Article Databases
- Social Work Abstracts
Citation social work database covering topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Limited to eight simultaneous users.
- Social Services Abstracts
Citation database focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- APA PsycInfoPremier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- SocINDEXFull text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
- Education Full TextFull text database includes journals and educational tests covering special education, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
- ERIC (EBSCO)This ERIC interface emphasizes keyword searching. Premier full text education database includes journal articles, ERIC documents, conference proceedings, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
- HeinOnline AcademicFull text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
Newspaper Databases
- Chicago Tribune (1985-present)Full text database of the Chicago Tribune newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics.
- Pantagraph CollectionIncludes full text access from 1989 to present. Starting from 2022, the database includes full color, scanned pdf replicas of the newspaper.
- Peoria Journal Star CollectionIncludes full text access from 1991 to present. Starting from 2019, the database includes full color, scanned pdf replicas of the newspaper.
- State Journal-Register CollectionIncludes full text access from 1985 to present. Starting from 2018, the database includes full color, scanned pdf replicas of the newspaper.
- Newspaper Source PlusFull text news articles from select US and international newspapers and news broadcasts transcripts.
- Nexis UniFull text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews. 10 Minute Training Tips
Questions? Contact Me!
Grace Allbaugh
Contact:
Milner Room 415
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.
(309) 438-5313