Key Databases for Theatre Research
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance An article database covering theater and dance. Includes content from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals as well as trade magazines for the performing arts.
- Digital Theatre Plus Provides streaming videos of full-length productions and interviews representing contemporary theatre and performance around the world; also includes a variety of educational resources.
- New York Times (website)Access full text articles and premium content on the New York Times website. Users are required to create a personal account. If prompted verify your Illinois State University affiliation. Firefox or Safari are recommended for signup. Consult these step by step instructions for more help. [Access Historical New York Times]
For even more databases, follow this link:
- A-Z Databases ListA list of all of the databases available to the ISU community.
Expand Further: Everything Search
- Everything SearchSearch across multiple databases and resources for articles, books, ebooks, multimedia, reports, and more.
Research Tips
- Research = learning and asking questions, not just 'proving a point'.
- Write down research ideas as you go along, using any method that works for you. This can help reveal and clarify ideas and directions.
- Aim to find 2-3 promising resources to start. It's not necessary to gather all sources in one sitting. Build as you go.
- Take note of terms, phrases and concepts that are relevant to your research. Search them to find even more information.
- Use various source types to get the most complete range of perspectives. Your own perspective is also valuable and part of this research 'conversation'.
- Do not hesitate to ask for help!
