Finding Sources
Introduction to Everything Search developed by Instruction and Student Engagement Department, Milner Library, Illinois State University.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
You can also view the video here: https://www.screencast.com/t/vlVG52yOk
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- CQ ResearcherFull text database providing reports on current, social, and controversial issues representing multi-faceted and opposing viewpoints. Reports include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, bibliography, graphics, photos, and short sidebar features.
- CQ Press LibrarySearchable compilation of reference sources focused on American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. All sources are published by CQ Press.
- Nexis UniFull text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews. 10 Minute Training Tips
- iPoll (Roper)Statistics and data gathered from multiple surveys administered by organizations in the United States, Europe, Latin America, and Asia. Data includes opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. To download datasets, create a personal account.
- Refining Your Search in Combined Search (video)Once you've conducted a search, it helps to know some strategies to narrow your search results.
- Accessing Sources in Combined Search (video)A Combined Search results list will include a variety of sources types. This video shows the best ways to access that content.
- How do I access an article found in a library database?Flowchart of possible access paths for an article in a library database.