Skip to main content

KNR 487: Advanced Seminar in Sports Medicine: Home

Learning Outcomes

In this library session you will learn:

  • where to seek help for library research
  • how to create library accounts to request research from Milner Library or other libraries
  • techniques for constructing a search on your research topics
  • sources particularly useful in finding research in sports medicine
  • types of citation management systems available via Milner Library to manage your research

Creating Library Accounts

Suggested Databases

Databases with a medical or sport focus:

SPORTDiscus SPORTDiscus provides citations and abstracts of books and journal articles in all areas of sport, including exercise physiology, sports medicine, physical fitness, training and conditioning. To determine local access, use Milner's Find It service. Interlibrary Loan is always an option for resources not owned by Milner.

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) Since ISU offers a nursing program, Milner has a strong collection in this area. Physical therapy is considered an allied health and receives strong coverage. Don't forget CINAHL!

PubMed PubMed provides citations and abstracts of research articles, including some links to the full-text of articles. Using a link to PubMed from one of the library's web pages is preferable to going directly to the database because the library adds  the "Find It" service which links to the library's holdings (both online and print).
Short Video: Moving Citations from PubMed into RefWorks 2.0
Handout: Setting Up Alerts (see page 3)
Tutorial: PubMed Tutorial (produced by PubMed)
 
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library provides original documentation on a variety of medical topics and health care based on research from journal research articles. Provides full text for most citations. NOTE: Cochrane Library will allow only one person at a time to use the database. Although this is not a large database in terms of the amount of coverage, topics that are covered are researched in great depth.
Short Video: Moving citations from the Cochrane Library to RefWorks 2.0
 
This comprehensive database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that's been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at the JBI so you can integrate the world's best evidence into your research. It includes evidence summaries, evidence-based recommended practices, best practice information sheets, systematic reviews, consumer information sheets, systematic review protocols and technical reports.