Journals
To check availability of a specific journal in print or online:
- Citation LinkerUse Citation Linker if you want to know whether Milner Library subscribes to a journal like Inorganic Chemistry either in print or online. Citation Linker provides links to online access to the journal, if available, and a link to search the Milner Catalog for the location of print copies
You can often find journals indexed on their publisher websites as well, such as:
- American Chemical Society Journals (1879-present)Searchable full text of all ACS journals, including the ACS Journal Archives.
Articles
To find articles on specific topics in the chemical literature, consult the following databases:
- Annual ReviewsFull text review articles covering the biomedical, life, physical, and social science disciplines.
- Web of ScienceSearchable database of scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Some full text available. Provides tools for citation alerts, citation reports, and analysis of publication patterns and trends.
- Computers & Applied Sciences CompleteFull text database covering the research and development of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. Particularly useful for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
- SciFinder-nDatabase of scientific literature including article citations, patents, chemical substances, and chemical syntheses. Users are required to create a personal account. Limited to two simultaneous users.
- Academic Search UltimateA scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, books, ebooks, reports, and conference proceedings.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources.
Structures
To find chemical structures or substructures, you can search the following databases:
- SciFinder-nDatabase of scientific literature including article citations, patents, chemical substances, and chemical syntheses. Users are required to create a personal account. Limited to two simultaneous users.
- Cambridge Structural Database WebCSDSearchable repository of small molecule crystal structures. Dataset information includes article citations, chemical structural data, and the results of crystal structure validation.
- ChemSpiderChemical structure database providing information related to structures, properties, and other data points like physical properties, interactive spectra, chemical suppliers, and literature references.
LibKey.io and LibKey Nomad
- LibKey.io Search and LibKey Nomad Plugin FAQLibKey.io is an easy way to look up articles by DOI to find if you can access that article through ISU resources.
LibKey Nomad is a browser plugin that makes it much easier to find articles available through ISU resources wherever you go on the web.
This FAQ will help you understand these two tools better - LibKey Nomad DownloadFrom this site you can download a plugin, LibKey Nomad, for your browser of choice that will look for article citations on pages that you visit and try to link those up, if it can, with articles available through ISU resources. This can help make the research process easier!
