A guide to support your work on the Critical History Research and Lesson Sequence Assignment of Myths and Misconceptions in American History. Resources are targeted at background research, curriculum materials, primary sources, and children's books.
These databases all provide access to different historical newspaper collections. Looking at historical newspapers can be helpful when looking to see how ideas were discussed in the past. They can also act at times as primary sources.
Digitized full text historic database covering century and half of the African American experience, covering life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more.
Full text and image database of 19th century US newspapers with an emphasis on the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life.
Full text historic database of the Chicago Tribune newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1849-2012; new year added annually.
Full text historic database of the New York Times newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1851-2020. A new year is added annually. For the most current issues, create a free NYT website account via the Library catalog.
Full text database of the historic African-American newspaper. Includes the Chicago Daily Defender, the Daily Defender and weekend editions of the newspapers. Includes sources published from July 1909-2010