About
Public records produced from federal, state, local and international governments or intergovernmental organizations (NGOs) provide primary source material beneficial to nearly all research interests. Milner Library has been a federal depository since 1858 and offers its users a broad array of historic and current sources including:
- hearings and debates of legislative bodies;
- official text of laws, regulations and treaties;
- records of government expenditures and finances;
- statistical compilations such as census data;
- investigative reports; and
- treaties.
Search Tools
- ProQuest CongressionalCompilation of U.S. House and Senate publications from hearings, committees, and other documents. Includes full text to the US Serial Set. (Help with database)
- HeinOnline AcademicFull text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
- GPO Monthly CatalogSearchable list of US Government Printing Office publications.
Search tools for Hearings & Reports
- Milner CatalogFilter by location to Floor 4 Federal Documents
- ProQuest CongressionalCompilation of U.S. House and Senate publications from hearings, committees, and other documents. Includes full text to the US Serial Set. (Help with database)
- HeinOnline AcademicFull text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS). Help documentation available here.
Hearings
Congressional hearings are the official record of publicly held committee hearings proceedings to obtain information and opinions on proposed bills. (Not all hearings that are published are publicly available.) Hearings may contain testimonies from expert witnesses.
Reports
Congressional reports originate from congressional committees and deal with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. There are several types of reports House and Senate Reports, Senate Executive Reports and Conference Reports.
