Other Suggested Sources - HIS 300 - Senior Seminar in History - Guides at Milner Library, Illinois State University

Databases

The databases listed below are specific to this section of HIS 300. Please refer to the Databases page under the Home page on this guide to find a larger list of general History databases.

Contemporary Women's Issues
Full text database focused on world-wide critical issues and events that influence women's lives and includes information from journals, newsletters, and research reports produced by non-profit groups and government and international agencies.
Includes sources published from 1972 to present
Readers' Guide Abstracts
Multi-disciplinary citation database for US published general-interest and popular magazines.
Includes sources published from 1890 to present
SocINDEX
Full text database for sociology and all sub-disciplines and includes journal articles, books, conference papers, and author profiles cover topics like abortion, crime, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social problems, substance abuse and violence.
Women's Studies International
Access abstracts and indexes in this bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research in many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.

Newspapers

Chicago Defender (July 1909-2010)
Full text database of the historic African-American newspaper. Includes the Chicago Daily Defender, the Daily Defender and weekend editions of the newspapers. Includes sources published from July 1909-2010
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-2013)
Full text historic database of the Chicago Tribune newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1849-2012; new year added annually.
Newspapers.com Illinois Collection
Full text historic database of regional and local Illinois newspapers.
Includes sources published from 1830s to present
Newspaper Source Plus
Full text news articles from select US and international newspapers and news broadcasts transcripts.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2020)
Full text historic database of the New York Times newspaper which covers international, national, and regional stories on a variety of topics. Includes issues published from 1851-2020. A new year is added annually. For the most current issues, create a free NYT website account via the Library catalog.

Newspapers from a specific city may be a very useful source for historical material. Milner Library subscribes to several newspapers from the local area, the state of Illinois, the United States and various other countries. Some newspapers are kept for many years on microfilm. The microfilm for newspapers is located on Floor 2 in the southeast corner. Microfilm of newspapers may also be borrowed from other libraries through InterLibrary Loan.

Core Websites

Library of Congress Classification Outline.: Note especially the H -- Social Sciences section with the HQ Women and HD Labor call number areas.

Women's Studies/Women's Issues Resource Sites
Swarthmore College Peace Collection
Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture.

Social Activism in the United States

HIS 300 - Senior Seminar in History

Databases

Newspapers

Core Websites

Additional Links