Suggested Primary Sources - HIS 300 - Senior Seminar in History - Guides at Milner Library, Illinois State University

Primary Source Databases

Alternative Press Index
Citation database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from U. S. and international alternative, radical, and left publications covering topics related to socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians. Limited to one user at a time.
Includes sources published from 1991 to present
American Memory Project
Database of digitized images, sound recordings, movies, and manuscripts representing American history, life, and culture.
ArchiveGrid
Online catalog with records describing archival materials such as historical documents, personal papers, and family histories representing collections from libraries, archives, museums, and other organizations around the world.
Black Thought and Culture
Written by leaders within the black community, this database includes books, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews from authors such as Frederick Douglass, W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, and Booker T. Washington.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Full text biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs of the life stories of Native Americans and Canadian First Peoples.
Women and Social Movements in the US (Scholar's Edition)
An archival collection, focusing on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, includes full-text documents, reviews of books and websites, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Illinois State University Primary Sources.

World War I Posters
An online collection of over 50 World War I posters held in Milner Library's Government Documents World War Poster Collection. Federal agencies and national organizations created these posters after the United States entered the war in 1917.
World War II-Era Posters and Propaganda
An online collection of over 170 World War II-era posters and related material created by the United States and other international entities. The digital versions were scanned from the physical primary sources held in Milner Library’s Government Documents World War Poster Collection.
World War I Illinois State Normal University Service Records
This collection provides access to the World War I service of Illinois State Normal University (ISNU) students, faculty, staff, and alumni through letters, photographs, questionnaires, news clippings, postcards, and other primary sources.

Examples of Primary Source Collections

1. Herstory.
Publications of women's organizations from the 1960s and 1970s.
Microfilm HQ 1101 .I58 Floor 4.

2. Emma Goldman Papers.
Microfilm HX 843.7 .G65 E43 1990 Floor 4.
Emma Goldman: A guide to her life and documentary sources: Link to Internet Archive source, formerly a project from Berkley Library.
Online Primary Sources from the Goldman Papers: Formerly at Berkley, a large portion of the digital collection is now at Duke University.

3. Mary McLeod Bethune Papers. 1923-1942.
Microfilm E 185.97 .B34 A25 Floor 4.
Online photos and documents from the Bethune Papers

4. Margaret Sanger Papers.
Selected Papers of Margaret Sanger.
HQ 764 .S3 A25 2003 Volumes 1 - 3. Floor 4.

Selected Papers of Margaret Sanger.
Volume 4 Round the World for Birth Control, 1920-1966 - E-book.
Selected documents online at: Margaret Sanger Papers Project.

HIS 300 - Senior Seminar in History

Primary Source Databases

Illinois State University Primary Sources.

Examples of Primary Source Collections

Additional Links