Skip to main content

National and Global Statistics

This site is designed to illustrate the broad range of statistics available nationally and internationally.

Fast facts

"The United Nations World Statistics Pocketbook is an authoritative and comprehensive compilation of 55 key statistical indicators in convenient country profile format. This edition presents available data for over 200 countries and areas, from over 20 international statistical sources, generally for the years 2005, 2010 and 2011. The topics covered include:  communication, education and culture, environment, health, industrial production, international trade, labour force, parliamentary participation by gender."

Statistical Resources (online and print)

General Sources 

Statistical Yearbook

REF. HA12.5 .U6301  (2007 most recent at  Floor 2 Reference)

Annual compilation of a wide range of international economic, social and environmental statistics for over 200 countries and areas of the world, compiled from sources including UN agencies and other international, national and specialized organizations. (Published by United Nations)

World Almanac and Books of Facts

DESK REF. AY67 .N5 W7   (Floor 2 Reference Desk)

Basic facts and statistics on countries in the world, US, and
individual states.

World Development Indicators

REF. HC59.15 .W656 2006 (2006 most recent at Floor 2 Reference)

Offers an annual compilation of data about development
and includes more than 900 indicators in more than 90 tables
organized in 6 sections: World View, People, Environment,
Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links.
(Published by the World Bank)

Also, browse country data and research database by World Bank.

World Development Report

REF. HC59.7 .W659 2010 (Floor 2 Reference)

Contains appendix of economic and social data
for over 200 countries (Published by the World Bank)

World Factbook

REF. DESK DOC. PREX 3.15:year (Floor 2 Reference Desk)

Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. (Published by Central Intelligence Agency)

World Statistics Pocketbook

REF. HA42 .U5802 (Floor 2 Reference)

Includes key statistical indicators for countries in economic,
social and environmental categories. (Published by the United Nations)

The World's Women: Trends and Statistics

HQ1154 .W675 2000 (Floor 4 Stacks, 2 copies)

Provides a comprehensive analysis of how women fare in different parts of the world. It highlights, through statistical analysis, women's situation as compared to men's worldwide in a broad range of fields---including families, health, education, work, human rights  and politics.  (Published by United Nations)

Subject Areas

Education

Digest of Education Statistics

REF. DOC. ED 1.326:year (Floor 2 Reference Desk)

Statistical information covering mainly American education,  but also includes international comparisons of education.
More than twenty tables offer a broad perspective on  education from nations of the world.  (Published by United States Department of Education) 

Education at a Glance

REF. LB 2846 .E247 (2011 most recent at Floor 2 Reference)

Offers key indicators of education from international countries. (Published by OECD)

Health

Health at a Glance  

REF. RA407.5 .O4 .H43 2007  (Floor 2 Reference) 

Offers key indicators of health status, health care resources and expenditures from international countries. Also includes  statistics that may indicate health status for countries. (Published by OECD)

Poverty

Poverty Data: A Supplement to World Development Indicators, 2008  (online only)

This booklet provides the country-level estimates of poverty, using the international poverty line of $1.25 a day for 115 developing countries. (Published by World Bank)

Return to Government Documents subject page

Subject Guide

Angela Bonnell's picture
Angela Bonnell
Contact:
Milner Library, Office #417
309 438-2354