Guides: Illinois Legal Resources: Home

Other Helpful Law Guides

Illinois Legal Research

Looking for help on locating Illinois legal resources?

You have stopped at the right place!

This page has information on accessing both online and Milner print resources.

Illinois legal materials can be found on the 4th floor at call numbers KFI1201-1799. Reference materials and current periodicals are on the 2nd floor.

We recommend these databases in getting started with your research.

HeinOnline Academic
Full text database focused on legal information from journals, federal laws, regulations, case law, reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and the U.S. State Department's Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS).
Nexis Uni
Full text database including United States and foreign news/newspapers, business information, company profiles, legal information, and reference sources. Help Videos

Also includes: news transcripts, federal cases, state cases, law reviews
Westlaw
Full text database of court cases, law review articles, legal statutes, court rules, proposed & adopted regulations, proposed & enacted legislation & administrative decisions, and guidances at the federal and state levels.

online

Finding Illinois Law: A Librarian’s Guide for Non-Lawyers

"The [Chicago Association of Law Librarians'] Government Relations Committee is proud to publish [the guide]. Recognizing that legal research is a specialized skill practiced by attorneys and law librarians, but that the general public often has a need to locate and understand legal information, the Committee presents this guide as a tool to aid non-lawyers."

print

Illinois Legal Research, 2nd ed by Mark Wojcik - call number KFI1275 .W65 2009
Illinois Legal Research Guide, 2nd ed by Laurel Wendt - call number KFI1275 .W46 2006, floor 2, reference collection

According to Cornell University's Legal Information Institute (LII), Illinois-specific citation norms and practices:

Examples are also available for all 50 states and D.C. at Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute.

print: call number KFI 1265.I4 - floor 4 [no longer updated]

online at Westlaw.