Art

Book Call Numbers

Most books related to Photography are on the 5th floor of Milner Library.

• American Social Hygiene Posters 
  University of Minnesota collection of social hygiene posters from 1910-1970.Ssearch by year, topic, or browse by categories including family health, mental health, women, and more.
• Gray's Anatomy from Bartleby
  Illustrations from Henry Gray's 1918 work Anatomy of the Human Body
• Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical Illustration 
  Images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented in manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs from the New York Public Library.
• Yale Cushing/Whitney Medical Digital Library 
  Images from the Pathology Teaching Collection, historical hospital postcards, portrait engravings, and the George E. Palade slide collection.
• Medicine and Madison Avenue
  Over 600 historical and health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from 1910-1959; categories include cigarettes, vitamins and tonics, diet, and more From Duke University Libraries digital collections.
• Social Documentary.net 
  Hundreds of compelling online exhibits by photographers from all corners of the globe documenting issues as diverse as the effects of modernization on Kathmandu, homelessness in the U.S., the consequences of oil exploitation in the Niger Delta, and reconciliation in Rwanda.
• Wellcome Images
  Over 40,000 current and historical medical images; topics include medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
• Archives of American Art 285 digitized photographs from the Federal Art Project's Photographic Division Collection to Wikimedia Commons. Most of the photographs date between 1935 and 1942, the active years of the Federal Art Project,
• Flickr Commons
  Public photography collections hosted by Flickr, including photographs from the Library of Congress, Oregon State University, National Media Museum, Powerhouse Museum.
• Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC)
  Library of Congress's photographic collections, including Brady-Handy presidential portraits, daguerreotypes, Farm Security Administration photographs, National Photo Company early 20th-century photos of D.C., and more.
• LIFE photo archive
  Millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
• Modern Photographers Collection
  Work from nationally and internationally renowned photographers active in the Pacific Northwest, including Art Hupy, Ernest Kassowitz, Kyo Koike, Frank Kunishige, Mary Randlett and others. From the UW Libraries Special Collections.
• New York Public Library "The Pageant of America" Photograph Archive
  American photographs from the 1860s-1920s in the New York Public Library. Includes albumen, platinum and silver gelatin prints from photographers including Alexander Gardner, William Henry Jackson, Timothy O'Sullivan, Edward S. Curtis, and Man Ray.
• Photography Now
  Sample of contemporary and classical photography, including works by Immogen Cuningham, William Eggleston, Walker Evans, and many others. Presented as portfolios with biographical information about the photographer and a browsable set of images.
• Photomuse
  Collections of the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film, Rochester, and the International Center of Photography, New York.
• William Gedney Photographs and Writings
  Hosted by Duke University Libraries, this 50,000 item collection documents the work of photographer William Gedney, covering the 1950s to 1989 and locations in the United States, India, and Europe.