Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Languages, Literatures & Cultures

A guide to library resources to those studying languages and cultures

ALL Milner LLC Databases

Use any of the Languages and Literature focused databases to do research in those areas. Remember to search using keywords, not phrases such as those you'd use in a google search. For instance, if your topic were dealing with the study of French in Africa and how children are taught the language in school, you might populate database search boxes by putting the word French in one box, Africa in another box, and preschool in a third box. Keep in mind that most databases don't automatically search for synonyms or related terms, so you'll need to search using those things yourself.

MLA Bibliography

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete 1978 -


Consisting of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series, the Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete features more than 143,000 comprehensive literary biographies. The biographies discuss lives and careers of authors, journalists, publishers and other literary figures.

Humanities International Complete

Humanities International Complete

Covers all aspects of the humanities and related subjects. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, and reviews of all types. Provides abstracts, citations.

JSTOR

JSTOR

Includes select journals from the fields of linguistics, cultural studies, literature, and women's studies, and other interdisciplinary areas; does not typically include the most recent year(s).

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Project Muse

  Project Muse Premium Collection


Provides full text access to journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Coverage and update periods vary. Provides citation, abstracts, and full text. Project Muse is a not-for-profit collaboration between the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins University.

Questions? Ask me!

Profile Photo
Jean MacDonald
Contact:
Office: 622A, Milner Library

Mail Code: 8900
(309) 438-3516