Encyclopedia of Social Work. Online
Ref. HV 35 .S6 20th 2008 Floor 2 & Online (2013)
The major reference source in the field of social work. Lengthy articles on topics covering all aspects of the field. Each article includes an extensive bibliography. Includes brief biographical sketches on prominent individuals, several appendices and a detailed index.
Social Work Dictionary. 6th edition
Ref. HV 12 .B37 2014 Floor 2
Brief definitions and explanations of terms, concepts, organizations, programs, historical events, and acronyms relevant to the profession.
Social Workers’ Desk Reference. 3rd edition. Online
Comprehensive handbook of social work practice, covering diverse populations & several fields of practice, along with ethical issues, assessment tools and outcomes.
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare.
Ref. HV 40 .C635 2008 Floor 2
Four volume set covering the profession of social work, human behavior in the social environment, social work practice, and social policy & policy practice.
PATH's Directory of Human Services.
Ref. HV 98 .I32 M221602 Floor 2
Provides basic descriptions and contact information for human services agencies
The State of America's Children and State by State Factsheets. (2023) Online.
Contains articles and statistics on children in the areas of health, child care, nutrition, housing, violence and education. Includes comparative data by state.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America. Online.
Ref. HV 12 .E497 2005 Floor 2 & Online
Covers major social welfare trends, issues, & people in the U.S., Canada & Mexico.
Illinois State University
Campus Box 8900
201 North School Street
Normal, Il 61790-8900
Have comments or questions about our guides?
Please contact Instruction and Student Engagement: