What's In This Guide
Hello! My name is Grace Allbaugh and I'm the Social Work librarian at Milner Library. This guide is starting point for students majoring in or taking classes within the School of Social Work. This guide will help you with with finding sources for your assignments and research.
- Recommended Resources
Find databases that will allow you to search for journals, books, chapters, etc. for your research and studies. - How To
Find links and videos that demonstrate how to use different functions of Milner Library and the website. - Style Guides
Find information on citation styles, including the (APA Manual) Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. - Useful Links
Find links to resources beyond Milner Library.
Related Subject Guides
Course Guides
Researching at Milner Library
Hello. My name is Grace Allbaugh. I’m the librarian for social work. If you have any questions, please contact me.
This guide can help you with:
- Getting started with the research process
- Identifying databases specific to social work
- Techniques for finding subject specific sources such books, articles, etc.
- Linking to a course specific guide
Conducting research is an iterative process. For more information about how to conduct research, consult the An Overview: The Research Process web guide.
- Encyclopedia of Social WorkThe major reference source in the field of social work. Lengthy articles on topics covering all aspects of the field. Each article includes an extensive bibliography. Includes brief biographical sketches on prominent individuals, several appendices and a detailed index.
- Social Work Abstracts
Citation social work database covering topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Limited to eight simultaneous users.
- Social Services Abstracts
Citation database focused on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- APA PsycInfoPremier full text psychology database includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
- Understanding Call NumbersFind books on the shelves more quickly with this quick overview of how to read Library of Congress call numbers.
- Citing SourcesLearn more about why we cite the sources we use, how to cite sources in a specific style, and strategies for avoiding plagiarism.
- Determine Credibility (Evaluating)Criteria and examples of how to evaluate a source to determine relevance and credibility.
- Help Videos for Using MilnerA suite of short step-by-step videos showing you how to use the various resources available in Milner Library.
Questions? Contact Me!
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.