Primary Sources
Newspapers
Milner Library subscribes to various newspapers both online and on microfilm.
The microfilm for most newspapers is located on Floor 2 in the southeast corner or in Basement Storage.
Microfilm of newspapers may also be borrowed from other libraries through InterLibrary Loan.
1. Historical New York Times (1851-2016). Online.
Full text of Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1912. Online.
4. Chicago Defender. (1909-1975). Online.
Online in Newspapers.Com Illinois Collection 1857-1985.
6. Illinois State Journal (Springfield, Ill.) -- 1889 - 1974. (microfilm -- Floor 2)
7. St. Louis Post-Dispatch. 1879 - 1980. (microfilm -- Floor 2)
Autobiographies, Letters, Diaries, Interviews
Material written by a specific individual, such as autobiographies, letters and diaries, or interviews of an individual
may be excellent primary sources. To determine if Milner Library has these materials, search in the Online Catalog
under the name of the person as an author, or under a group of people, or under an event.
Additional Primary Source
American Periodicals Series Online 1741-1900
Full text database for historic American magazines and journals primarily from the nineteenth century.
Black Thought and Culture.
Full text database of books, speeches, essays, articles, and interviews of major African American leaders
from colonial times to the present.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600 - 2000.
Full text database of primary and secondary sources on the role of women in a variety of social movements
throughout American history.
North American Indian Thought and Culture.
Full text database of books, diaries, letters, oral histories, speeches, etc., by and about Native Americans from
1500 to the present.
Course Guide
Please use the "Book Appointment" button above to make an appointment.