Education Law
This is a highly select list of sources related to education law. To find more sources, consult the Locate Books and Locate Articles pages to learn how to search for books and articles.
State and Federal Code
- United States School Laws and RulesKF4105.99 .U55 (Floor 4 Shelves: Building Use Only)
Selected Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Education Law by
CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 "A welcome addition to any public or academic library, this set would also be of use in a law library where educational law might need to be explored and reviewed at a more basic level than other legal texts." --Sara Rofofsky Marcus, Queensborough Community Coll., Bayside, NY "Smaller educational legal summaries exist, and a couple of texts deal with Supreme Court cases about education, but this set provides a unique combination of general educational legal issues and case-specific information. It should be a welcome addition to academic and large public libraries. Also available as an ebook." -- Booklist The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following: Key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviews Constitutional issues Key concepts, theories, and legal principles Key statutes Treaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights) Curricular issues Educational equity Governance Rights of students and teachers Technology Biographies Organizations In addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter. Such a broadened perspective places education law in its proper context in the U.S. legal system.
Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2008The Yearbook of education law by
Call Number: KF4102.5 .Y4201 / Online
The Law of Higher Education: a comprehensive guide to legal implications of administrative decision making by
Make sure you have a copy on your bookshelf. The Law of Higher Education, Fifth Edition, is the most up-to-date and comprehensive reference, research source, and practical legal guide for college and university administrators, campus attorneys, legal counsel, and institutional researchers, addressing all the major legal issues and regulatory developments in higher education. In the increasingly litigious environment of higher education, William A. Kaplin and Barbara A. Lee's clear, cogent, and contextualized legal guide proves more and more indispensable every year. Over 3,000 new cases related to higher education have been decided since the publication of the previous edition, and scores of changes to higher education law are made each year. Every section of the fifth edition contains new material, including those related to: Hate speech and free speech rights of faculty in public universities Sharing of research with international colleagues Intellectual property and peer-to-peer file sharing Student suicide Campus safety Police and administrators' right to search students' residence hall rooms Governmental support for religious institutions and religious autonomy rights of individual public institutions Collective bargaining and antidiscrimination laws Nondiscrimination and affirmative action in employment, admissions, and financial aid Family and Medical Leave Act and workers' compensation FERPA (Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act)
Call Number: KF4225 .K36 2013 (Floor 4)Publication Date: 2013
The Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell by
This text captures the key points of the precedents governing student rights and responsibilities relating to attendance, speech, expression, religion, discipline, grades, tests, drugs, search and seizure, the emerging law of social media, i.e., cyberbullying, and the range of procedural due process interests. The book further addresses the range of constitutional rights and protections for teachers as well as employment terms and conditions, including contracts, tenure and potential liabilities.
Call Number: KF4119.85 .A42 2015Publication Date: 2015
Practical Education Law for the Twenty-First Century by
This one-volume treatise summarizes and explains a myriad of legal trends and principles in the rich and varied field of American education law. The second edition of Practical Education Law for the Twenty-First Century is divided into ten chapters, each dealing with a substantive area in education law. Topics covered include school finances, school search and crime issues, residency and fee issues, basic labor law, alternative education and vouchers, injuries to students, athletics, and the overall organization and regulation of public education. Within each chapter are a number of concise sections that address specific legal concerns. Citations are nationwide in scope and include references to updated federal and state case law, federal statutory law, and state statutory law. Practical law tips appear throughout the volume. This highly readable text is extremely accessible to nonlegal audiences, as well as useful to the legally trained reader and to the law student. "This book is a must for all educational lawyers, counsel to towns, school boards, and school administrators. The treatise is accessible and suitable for law school and non-law school classes. Acquisition law librarians for all law schools need to order this book. Professor Dodd's emphasis on real-life situations makes it an excellent desk book for school boards, superintendents of schools, and educational policymakers, as well as the lawyers that represent them. This book will be useful as supplemental reading in graduate school of education courses in school administration. The book receives the Bimonthly Review of Law Books five-star rating for readability, accessibility, and relevance." -- Michael Rustad, Bimonthly Review of Law Books, on the first edition "This book...provides an excellent overview of education law in the U.S... Both students and practitioners will find this book very helpful. This work would make an excellent textbook for undergraduate and graduate education classes as well as law school classes covering education law." -- Legal Information ALERT, on the first edition "Thoroughly researched, well organized, and easy to read, the book concisely outlines each area of law, and cites to numerous cases, laws, and other supporting materials, all in the footnotes and through a table of cases, so as not to interrupt the easy flow of the text. This book is a must for practitioners and legal scholars in the field of education or education law." -- Suffolk University Juvenile Justice Center Newsletter, November 2003, on the first edition
Call Number: KF4119 .D63 2010 (Floor 4)Publication Date: 2010- Students With Disabilities and Special Education Law byCall Number: KF4210 .H3601 (Floor 2 Reference)Publication Date: 37th edition
A Teacher's Pocket Guide to School Law by
A concise, user-friendly reference book that covers the critical and contemporary aspects of school law. A Teacher's Pocket Guide to School Law is a practical, informative reference for in-service and pre-service teachers in need of a school law resource written specifically with educators in mind. With an entertaining style that does not assume background knowledge in legal issues, this crisp, succinct text covers both the traditional and contemporary legal issues faced in today's classrooms. Examining religion in the classroom, student record confidentiality, zero tolerance policies, gang activity, and students with disabilities, the Teacher's Pocket Guide not only covers relevant school legal topics, but also provides readers with practical guides that assist teachers in resolving possible legal problems and avoiding lawsuits. In the newly revised second edition of the text, author Nathan L. Essex has significantly expanded the guide to include the most recent school law topics, keeping the book up-to-date and practical for 21st Century educators everywhere.
Call Number: KF4119.85 .E85 2011 (Floor 2 Reference)Publication Date: 2010
Education Law Journals
- Illinois State Education Law and Policy Journall (currently offline) From the College of Education Editor: Betsy Lugg, Publications Manager: Andrea J. Rediger The Illinois State Education Law and Policy Journal reports on various aspects of school law and policy among practitioners, professors, and attorneys. Because schools are products of law, the journal emphasizes the analysis of issues in school law and policy to ultimately provide theoretical frameworks capable of anticipating and predicting future developments in school law and policy.